Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
really easy and yummy! IMPORTANT NOTE: if you want it to taste like true restaurant style, you need to put the rice only in a pot over high heat and stir it around for about 5 minutes or so before cooking. it helps the grains of rice to stay separate (more like restaurant style) and less sticky. i also used frozen peas/carrots from a bag..worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia Dillard Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mocksville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is a great recipe! The only thing I want to add is that to get that authentic "taste" of restaurant fried rice, you should add about half a bottle of Oyster Sauce. Easily found in the asian section at the grocery store. Back off on that much if it tastes too strong, but after years of living in Japan and trying many versions of fried rice recipes, oyster sauce is the ticket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1026 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I found this quite tasty after a few adjustments. I cooked it in beef broth instead of the water and added a little minced garlic, grated ginger, sesame oil and green onions! Just like the restaurant!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
685 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I truly liked this recipe, but I found that it is 100% necessary to prepare the rice a day ahead of time. That extra day is everything to this recipe, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorrie
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
My first attempt ever at fried rice and it was really good. I took the advice of others and used frozen pea's and carrots, I heated the wok and used olive oil sauteed 1/2 onion then added veggies then rice, to be exact I used 1/3 c. soy sauce, and it was plenty for our taste. My husband really liked it and ate nearly half of what I made. Thanks for a great recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I have learned that I must double or even triple this recipe because everyone who tries it...can't get enough of it! It is better than any restaurant I've ever been to! The only change I have made is to boil the rice in Chicken or Beef broth, it really brings out the flavor! I only use frozen mixed veggies too. Last night I even added a can of Tiny Shrimp. Absolutely Delicious! This is an amazing recipes! Thanx Jostrander!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I like the ingredients, and the finished dish is fine with some cooking method changes. Start with your rice cooked and COLD. Not necessary to cook the peas at all. Don't scramble the eggs with the vegetables -cook them separately in a small saute pan like a crepe. Once cooled, roll the thin egg pancake up like a cigar, then cut it into shreds, chiffonade-style. I also added some chopped green onion and small, cooked shrimp. Small but important preparation changes result in a better, 4-star outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This rice recipe is indeed 'restaurant' style. The sesame oil should be made mandatory rather than being optional. It really gives the impression that you're tasting Chinese fried rice. I will definitely do this recipe again. I may just include chopped mushrooms the next time I'll prepare this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This is my default fried rice recipe as I like the carrot/pea combo, but any meat/veggie can be added to make it a meal in itself. Usually I use leftover rice, shred the carrots and leave the peas frozen as they thaw rather quickly. For the eggs, I don't scramble them; instead I mix the eggs with a bit of water/pepper/soy then leave them to cook flat in the pan. When cooked through, I roll the circle o' egg up and cut chiffonade-style, adding the shreds to the pan after seasoning the rice and veggies with soy sauce. Any way it's made, it's all good... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
My family loves this recipe, the only thing I do differently is to cook the rice a day ahead and put it in the fridge until ready to use. This makes the rice less sticky and more "restaurant style"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States