Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I've been making fried rice like this for years. The only thing different you need to do is either fry the uncooked rice in a little oil before adding water and bringing to a boil or use day old rice. By toasting the rice, you keep it separated more so it isn't as sticky. I typically use shredded cabbage and wedges of onion in my veggies that I add too. Sometimes I add spinach or sweet peppers. You really can add anything but carrots and peas are the standard for most restaurants. I also sometimes cook my rice in broth so it is more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was amazing, althought I don't have a wok it still came out delicious. Very versatile recipe to add different vegetables to. I made this as a base for General Tso's chicken....delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I found this very good, and my kids loved it, even one that doesn't touch white rice. The simpleness of this recipe really appeals to kids. I think I would have liked it better with some of the adjustments others have suggested but I won't be changing it because the family wins out. I did however cook the rice for less time: about 12 min as I usually do when making plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and we all loved it! I added oil to a pan, added diced onion and 2 cloves of garlic. When fragrant, I scrambled two eggs and then added 1 cup of mixed veggies. When the veggies were heated through, I added the rice and cooked until warm. I added a couple of Tbsp of oyster sauce and the same of soy sauce, finishing with drizzle of sesame oil. The end result was absolutely delicious - better than any Chinese take-out I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I loved it. Remember to prepare rice ahead of time and refrigerate it for a few hours : a very wise way to avoid rice becoming to soft due to wok heat. I added a few pieces of chicken Thai style. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleventwenty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very easy, added cooked chicken and it was a meal on its own! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Excellent, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruTigress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was very easy but didn't seem to have a lot of zest or authenticity to it. I will make fried rice again with some alterations to spice it up and add color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Yummy!! We used cold, cooked rice and added the optional sesame oil (don't leave that out, it really adds a great flavor). Next time we'll probably add some chopped green onions on top after cooking, but it's a great recipe and we'll use it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very, very yummy! Husband said it's the best fried rice he's ever had! The sesame oil really is necessary with this recipe--thankfully I keep it on hand when I make my Asian-inspired pork chops, which is what I served this rice with. It adds a delicious nutty flavor you just can't beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States