Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Other recipes instruct to stir fry the rice--I did not do it with this recipe. That said, because I happened to have leftover rice in the freezer along with a half package of tiny peas and baby carrots in the crisper, I thought I'd give it a try. It was good, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Although this recipe is a good starting point to make restaurant style fried rice, there are 2 things you have wrong. first, you cook the rice in chicken stock instead of water and second, you don't scramble the eggs with anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I worked in a Chinese resterant in my youth and they always used cooked cold rice. They sautéed chopped green onion, celery and mushrooms foe the veggies. Sesame oil, soya sauce, sesame seeds were always used. Very nice fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Certainly not what I would rave about it being "restaurant style". It would be better to look it up such a recipe on Google!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe and it's a pretty basic one. I am sure it's good, but. It's very important to use cold rice from the day before. Also fresh garlic and yes oyster sauce is the key. No it doesn't taste like oysters. I also use the frozen peas and carrots. They are supposed to be crisp tender. I also add chicken bite size, cooked same day or just from left over chicken and make it a one pot meal. Add some peanut butter not a lot and it will change the whole taste. I can taste peanut flavor in some fried rice dishes in the Asian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I have not tried this recipe it is to plain to me without garlic celery and onions it is almost like white rice with peas and carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This misses the mark on many levels. Using 2:1 water to rice is inaccurate. Using freshly made rice makes it awfully mushy. No oyster sauce? This tastes ok, but FAR from restaurant style. Well, maybe if the restaurant is hometown buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
First, I started with COLD rice. As another reviewer remarked, that's essential. This also is pretty bland. I added a pressed garlic clove and 1/2 cup chopped onion. And I agree that the sesame oil is essential, and 1/8 tsp "red pepper oil" wouldn't hurt, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
You need to doctor this up quite a bit. First, you are not going to get a zippy fried rice flavor without scallions. Also, the suggestion that sesame seed be optional should be changed to 1 T sesame oil. No rice should be without. I did this without peas because I was out, and I added 1 or 1.5 C diced Chinese-bbq rib meat (boneless) which I already had from a char siu recipe. You obviously need soy sauce. However, there were NO leftovers from those improvements. And no one complained about the rib meat being too spicy. Great way to use unwanted ginger beef or meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Bland, Bland, Bland! Must add onion, both white and green, garlic, celery, ginger, and bean sprouts if you have them. I like the sesame oil, but a little goes a long way. And why "baby carrot"? Do you mean real baby carrot or those little scrubbed carrots in the bag? I will definitely not be using this recipe again. How on earth has it rated 4.5 stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 743) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States