Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Mythily
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Good and easy recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mythily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: River Edge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Other recipes instruct to stir fry the rice--I did not do it with this recipe. That said, because I happened to have leftover rice in the freezer along with a half package of tiny peas and baby carrots in the crisper, I thought I'd give it a try. It was good, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Carroll
Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Although this recipe is a good starting point to make restaurant style fried rice, there are 2 things you have wrong. first, you cook the rice in chicken stock instead of water and second, you don't scramble the eggs with anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This misses the mark on many levels. Using 2:1 water to rice is inaccurate. Using freshly made rice makes it awfully mushy. No oyster sauce? This tastes ok, but FAR from restaurant style. Well, maybe if the restaurant is hometown buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
First, I started with COLD rice. As another reviewer remarked, that's essential. This also is pretty bland. I added a pressed garlic clove and 1/2 cup chopped onion. And I agree that the sesame oil is essential, and 1/8 tsp "red pepper oil" wouldn't hurt, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I needed to doctor this up quite a bit. First, I added scallions. Also, I added 1 T sesame oil. I did this without peas because I was out, and I added 1 or 1.5 C diced Chinese-bbq rib meat (boneless) which I already had from a char siu recipe. I added soy sauce. However, there were NO leftovers from those improvements. And no one complained about the rib meat being too spicy. Great way to use unwanted ginger beef or meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Bland, Bland, Bland! I like the sesame oil, but a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was very good but I did make some changes that a friend told me about. Using left-over rice is best if at all possible. The rice will be firmer. After preparing everything and when adding the soy sauce sprinkle about 2 teaspoons of sugar over it all and stir well. Depending how much you have made start with just one teaspoon and stir and taste. Before serving sprinkle chopped green onion along with some of the green tops over it all. No need to stir it in and it is very colorful. If you like green onions you will love it on this dish. Thanks for everyone's input and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was very good my husband said to be sure and keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent, basic fried rice recipe. It accomplishes exactly what you need if you are just looking for a simple, fried rice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Pork Fried Rice

A quick and easy one-skillet dish perfect for weeknight suppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States