Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Certainly not what I would rave about it being "restaurant style". It would be better to look it up such a recipe on Google!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe and it's a pretty basic one. I am sure it's good, but. It's very important to use cold rice from the day before. Also fresh garlic and yes oyster sauce is the key. No it doesn't taste like oysters. I also use the frozen peas and carrots. They are supposed to be crisp tender. I also add chicken bite size, cooked same day or just from left over chicken and make it a one pot meal. Add some peanut butter not a lot and it will change the whole taste. I can taste peanut flavor in some fried rice dishes in the Asian restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This misses the mark on many levels. Using 2:1 water to rice is inaccurate. Using freshly made rice makes it awfully mushy. No oyster sauce? This tastes ok, but FAR from restaurant style. Well, maybe if the restaurant is hometown buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
First, I started with COLD rice. As another reviewer remarked, that's essential. This also is pretty bland. I added a pressed garlic clove and 1/2 cup chopped onion. And I agree that the sesame oil is essential, and 1/8 tsp "red pepper oil" wouldn't hurt, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I needed to doctor this up quite a bit. First, I added scallions. Also, I added 1 T sesame oil. I did this without peas because I was out, and I added 1 or 1.5 C diced Chinese-bbq rib meat (boneless) which I already had from a char siu recipe. I added soy sauce. However, there were NO leftovers from those improvements. And no one complained about the rib meat being too spicy. Great way to use unwanted ginger beef or meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Bland, Bland, Bland! I like the sesame oil, but a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was very good but I did make some changes that a friend told me about. Using left-over rice is best if at all possible. The rice will be firmer. After preparing everything and when adding the soy sauce sprinkle about 2 teaspoons of sugar over it all and stir well. Depending how much you have made start with just one teaspoon and stir and taste. Before serving sprinkle chopped green onion along with some of the green tops over it all. No need to stir it in and it is very colorful. If you like green onions you will love it on this dish. Thanks for everyone's input and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was very good my husband said to be sure and keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent, basic fried rice recipe. It accomplishes exactly what you need if you are just looking for a simple, fried rice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Looked like plenty since I also made my garlic/ginger chicken stir fry.... Enough for at least 2 meals..... No leftovers tonight!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States