Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Rice was too mushy, not sure why we need to boil the carrots and peas. No green Onions or even yellow onions? No Pork or Shrimp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
There is nothing wrong w/this recipe, it is a good basic fried rice, but in my opinion the rice must be at least a day old, and it is better to saute` it in the pan before adding hot water to boil it. I add chicken or beef broth to the rice water for flavor, and I usually add either beef or chicken to my rice. I think the sesame oil is a must for that Chinese flavor, and I like either Hoisin sauce or Oyster sauce in mine, I also use low salt soy sauce. If I have them, or I am having someone for dinner, I add scallions and use the green tops at the end for color, otherwise I use some chopped onion and cook it in the sesame oil along w/a little garlic before I add other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I only followed this recipe loosely, omitting bean sprouts, regular onions, and a few other things. I basically only had diced carrots, green onions, egg, rice, soy sauce & sesame oil. I added much more soy sauce & sesame oil (equal parts) to the rice & it tasted fantastic. My friend loved this & asked me to make again with chicken in it next time & served with eggrolls. Really easy recipe & better than most Chinese restaurants for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Awesome. Diced up some leftover chicken and deli ham to throw in. I substituted brown rice then added some fish sauce and Chinese spice powder at the end. Husband loved it. I think it was better than take-out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I had to add tons of extra spices to get any flavor, and even then it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Perfect as written! Thank you, jostrander!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was so easy to make I added pieces of ham and the family said that it tasted just like take out. Thank you for such great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This fried rice was great! It tasted a lot like the restaurant kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockstartailor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Excellent recipe - only thing my daughter changed was added more soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I've been making fried rice like this for years. The only thing different you need to do is either fry the uncooked rice in a little oil before adding water and bringing to a boil or use day old rice. By toasting the rice, you keep it separated more so it isn't as sticky. I typically use shredded cabbage and wedges of onion in my veggies that I add too. Sometimes I add spinach or sweet peppers. You really can add anything but carrots and peas are the standard for most restaurants. I also sometimes cook my rice in broth so it is more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States