Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
All we could taste was the Hellmann's mayo. So sad that we didnt like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Northport, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
A good basic recipe on which to build. I do think one should also add onion and/or scallion, always. I like using dark soy sauce when available. I also add ground ginger, a bit of minced garlic, ground white pepper, and a soupcon of oyster sauce, and when available, a bit of fermented black bean paste. I like using basmati rice, prepared the day before, and allowed to cool overnight in the refrigerator. In preparing the basmati, brown the uncooked rice very lightly in oil before adding the water to prepare it. As to the oil used, peanut is the most authentic, though canola or (for health-conscious folks) grapeseed oil (available in the Kosher foods section at WalMart, for example). Other oils-- including corn and even soybean, as well as olive-- are too strongly (or inauthentically) flavored. The sesame oil should be the dark variety, not the light, and go easily with it since it is very strongly flavored-- too much will be overwhelming to the more delicate flavors. If one likes the dish hotter than the white pepper will make it (and white pepper has less bite but more heat than black), one can add Szechuan pepper, if available. Or one can add hot capsicum-derived pepper. To do it right one really needs a gas stove, where one can get the temperature of the wok locally VERY high... in restaurants I have observed the chefs actually letting the oil flame a little, though I do not advise this at home! But the high heat, apparently, is of the essence. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This recipe was super easy and tasted great! I used a frozen pea/carrot mix and added some green onion...yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was delicious! I didn't have sesame oil so left it out, and used chives instead of green onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahensnest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is wonderful. I use a soy-free "soy sauce" to make it allergy-friendly, and it still tastes great. It's also great with any veggies you like, or - my personal favorite - some fresh pineapple and a hint of pineapple juice in the sesame oil. I also usually just cook the carrots and peas right in the wok. I cook them for a minute or two, and that lets me skip the second step. This is delicious, fast, and was a big hit at a recent dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This turned out pretty decent. It made LOTS...we normally eat quite a bit of rice so I left the recipe as it was, but we have lots leftover. I also made the mistake of thinking that I could get it all into one pan and I was sadly mistaken. Next time I will cut the amounts in half or separate it into 2 pans to fry. No one in the house but me likes peas so I just used frozen carrots and cut them a little smaller. I also ran out of soy sauce ((as I used it in the general tsao's chicken from this site)) So I made sure to add the extra sesame oil at the end. It was a tad sticky...but that could have been from overcrowding in the pan. We will definitely use this again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Followed the recipe but it turned out very mushy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This is really easy to prepare and super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was ok, not as flavorful as I would have liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States