Fried Rice Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I was taught how to make restaurant style fried rice by a Chinese friend who owned his own Chinese restaurant. His rice turns out just like this rice! One thing he does, and was adamant about, chill rice 30 minutes in fridge to stop the cooking process. He says that cooked rice from the cooking pot is still cooking internally and mushes when put in wok to fry, which you do not want, The chilled rice warms up enough to absorb all the seasonings and soy sauce without cooking any or getting mushy. Another trick, making chicken fried rice, cook your chicken leg quarters in the over, 350 til done, using the juices off the chicken to moisten the rice instead of sesame oil. The sesame oil changes the taste of the rice and if you do not like that flavor, it will ruin the rice for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Good starting point! Simple and easy to make but not super flavorful. I add a bit more soy sauce and chopped green onions to my fried rice. Would be great with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ricquel Coggins
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Made this for the first time a few days ago, with frozen veggies, and canola oil instead of the vegetable oil, and without the sesame oil. Finished product was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricquel Coggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I grew up in Vietnam and my mom made fried rice a lot when I was a kid. Fried rice is an easy breakfast dish made from leftovers for us. We used leftover rice (best when it's cold, just out of the fridge), leftover meat or ham (diced), scallions or garlic, veggies (peas and carrots work fine), eggs, and seasoned with soy, fish, or oyster sauce. This is a good recipe but you can make it even easier by cooking more rice than you need the day(s) before. I use this basic recipe to make fried rice for my kids now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Loved how it was easy to prepare. I used Chicken Broth in place of water. We left out carrots and peas. We added Shrimp and mushrooms. Felt it was a little bland, but we realize we didn't put enough soy sauce in it. We also add sesame oil as well. We added a can of shrimp in the last minute before serving.--Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
My family of 6 loves this and it's now a regular item on our menu, so I always keep the ingredients on hand. Like others, I make the rice a day ahead and use it cold. I throw the peas and carrots in frozen. I always add green onion toward the end. I usually add other vegetables to the Ps&Cs just to give us more veggies - bok choy (cooked ahead), chopped fresh spinach and chopped broccoli. The sesame oil is A MUST - be generous and experiment. That's what really gives it the flavor. Also, a good soy sauce is a must - I love Aloha brand. I always make a huge batch because everyone loves it and wants leftovers the next day (even for breakfast). In fact I actually made this for breakfast this morning - it's Sat and I opened the fridge and saw leftover rice and cooked up some friend rice. The kids were so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sun1182
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I just finished making this. Yummy! I used brown rice that I cooked in chicken stock 2 days ago, frozen peas & carrots. I scrambled 3 eggs prior to placing them in the pan. I also added fresh shrimp. I used a small amount of soy sauce and oyster sauce. Yummy yummy yummy & super quick! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sun1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hercules, California, USA
Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was really very good and easy. I used brown rice and bought a bag of shredded carrots which I chopped. Also added green onion and a clove of garlic. Yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
A couple things I do a little different. It works best when the rice is cold, and I add sesame seeds as well. I made this last night and added shrimp and pineapple to it. The combinations are endless really. Whatever is your favorite fried rice. Or whatever meat you have leftover in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This is simply good thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States