Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe had a decent (if bland) flavour, but the end results didn't pan out for me so well. This was less the recipe's fault and more me trying to cut down on the amount of pans used (COOK THE EGG SEPERATELY-- DON'T BREAK IT ON TOP; it makes the rice mushy). I also found the amount of water-to-rice ratio in Step 1 too much-- follow the directions for whatever rice you get and add the stock-cube. Even all that, though, doesn't take away that the taste of this recipe is just "so-so."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. It was a nice, easy change from your regular rice. I cut down on onion, used a frozen mixed veggie instead and didn't add bean sprouts (none on hand). Super quick and yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My husband ate this even though he doesn't like peas. Great recipe really quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
The chicken bouillion cubes do make this dish a little salty, but that's just what is needed to add to an otherwise bland dish. The veggies don't really do anything for it, and the soy sauce only adds to the saltiness level. Not for those who are trying to keep their sodium levels low, or just prefer take-out instead. We weren't really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I've made this several times with left-over regular rice and a variety of vegetables. It is a very good basic recipe. My family loves it and asks for it regularly. I even add left-over bits of chicken and call it the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe was alright. Next time I won't do the snow peas. The ones I used added too much of their flavor. I'm going to do more garlic next time. I served it with beef stir-fry. It was good, it just wasn't awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Made this rice with Asian orange chicken also found on this site.The two recipes were a perfect match.Putting the rice in the fridge overnight is important,or at least I think so.It was the best fried rice I ever made.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I have used this recipe twice. The first time the rice was ok but better with a few modifications. Cooking the rice ahead of time and refrigerating it makes a big difference. I didnt have the time the first time to do this. also, i used regular oil and sesame oil to fry the rice in and the sesame oil added a much needed flavor. i used frozen peas and carrots and chopped onion and added the beaten egg over the mixture and cooked until the rice was no longer shiny. Cooking the egg this way worked better for me than frying it in advance. I cooked the bean sprouts seperately in sesame oil and soy sauce and added it to the rice in the end. YUMMY. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackiW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was ok, not fantastic however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I loved this simple dish. I made it into a one pan recipe. I also used a more healthy brown rice and I had frozen peas on hand and used them instead of snow peas. I have already filed this one away for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States