Fried Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Still in search of a great fried rice recipe. This was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
The first time I made this I followed the ingredients faithfully (except the bacon which I didn't have on hand) but I did use leftover cold rice. (That was actually the reason for the recipe, looking for something to use up the rice!) It was good. The second time, I made a few changes which made the recipe better. First, I again used the leftover rice which I think is a good choice. Then, I sauteed the onion (used red this time, though prefer the original green) along with carrot cut in matchsticks and celery, because they were the things I had in the fridge, but which we ended up liking better than the peas (it's a texture thing.) I cooked the egg differently this time, simply doing a scramble until they were soft and still pretty wet. That was a much better technique for the egg. The first time I found the egg to be kind of tough by the time the recipe was finished. This time I added the veggies and the egg into the rice after thoroughly heating it in the oil until it was just a tiny bit crispy in spots so that neither was overdone. The other minor changes were a bit of sesame oil in place of some of the vegetable oil as well as the addition of red pepper flakes to give it a bit of heat. This time I forgot the bacon (oops!) but I can't imagine it wouldn't be a good addition - it is bacon, after all. The basic recipe is good, but I think with these tweaks it was even better for us. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I liked this recipe. I left out the bacon. But in the future I would add pork, shrimp or chicken if I had it. It was great just with vegetables. I followed others suggestions and used cooked cold rice and it was not mushy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
easy to make and good way to use up leftover rice. I tried a couple of modifications. I added frozen brocoli and some sliced fresh carrots. Also added a few shakes to taste of crushed red pepper seasoning. Also tried it with sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. Does give a slightly different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
After slicing and putting up my homemade hickory smoked bacon, I had plenty of "bits" leftover and this was the perfect go-to recipe. I made this as stated with the following exceptions since I didn't have some stuff. I substituted 1/4 C finely diced white onion for the green onion and sauteed it after the bacon along with 1 clove of minced garlic. I also cooked the rice in beef broth instead of water and then chilled it for 6 hours. Other than those minor tweaks, I made as directed. This was a lovely recipe, and a great jump off point for other variations. I cannot wait to experiment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Quick,easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Just doesn't replace my desire to go get Chinese takeout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Yum! Prepare this as directed (using cold rice) and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Not a fan of this recipe. It was very bland and tasted like plain bacon and rice. Even adding onions and extra soy sauce did not help much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is the best fried rice recipe I've tried and will stick with it. I made rice as I usually do, 1 c rice to 1 3/4 c water, and put it in the fridge to cool before frying. I used ham instead of bacon and increased the oil a little to make up for no bacon fat. Followed the recipe as written other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Cauliflower Fried 'Rice'

Try this quick cooking fried 'rice' that actually has no rice at all!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States