Fried Razor Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Delicious and so easy ... our first time digging and cooking razor clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I am an old pro (lol) at razor clam digging, cleaning and cooking. I had a very difficult time getting the breading to stick when I fried these. Maybe I didn't have the right oil temp? I ended up having to rinse the crumb mixture off the second batch and then breading with our family fav, seasoned cornmeal and flour. That worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Just fried some up, great meal. Followed Ladybug's suggestions and they were spot on! I fried 90 seconds per side, remember they are still cooking once out of the oil. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
OMG! I just made these clams and are they good! We live in Oregon and have been digging razors for 40 years. Cleaned the clams yesterday and cooked them today. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Lacking saltines, I followed ladybug's recommendation and dipped the clams in flour, then egg wash, then panko mixed with seasonings. At medium-high, they only take a few minutes per side. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Wonderful, and super easy. Another way I get to enjoy our seasons catch. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely the best fried clams I've ever had. I didn't have any crackers, so I substituted with Panko and flour: I had the eggs in one bowl, Panko in another bowl, and then the flour mixed with all the other spices in another bowl. Dipped the clams in the egg, then in the flour mixture, then in the panko and fried till golden brown. Yum!!! My husband, who isn't really a big fan of fried clams, thought they were delicious and ate them right up. Although I've lived in WA for over 15 years, this was my first time digging for, then preparing and eating razor clams. Now I'm a huge fan! =) Note: It's really super important to be sure to clean these clams properly, as well as to make sure they are thoroughly patted dry with paper towels before you begin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sawyer Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I made this and thought it was excellent. We dug our own razor clams on a beach in Alaska and cleaned them ourselves. What a chore, but you have to do it right, or the slightest bit of clam guts could ruin a whole batch. I fried these up with a little change in the ingredients. I added some corn meal because I love the corn battered clams. It was flavorful and a hit with everyone, even my boys - 4 and almost 2 - who would have thought? I found it works best if you fry them hot and quick. They don't turn out rubbery and they are very tender. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will use it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Lusk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Preparing and cooking razor clams is a learned gift, if you dont know how they will be very poor in taste and quality. Follow this reciepe and try them you wont be disapointed. To learn how to prepare properly try this web site http://wdfw.wa.gov/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe is the real deal if you are a razor clam fan. We dig up Razor Clams down on Long Beach Washington. This is the recipe we use to fry up the day's catch when we get back to the condo. You can serve with butter, tarter or cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States