Fried Razor Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I made this and thought it was excellent. We dug our own razor clams on a beach in Alaska and cleaned them ourselves. What a chore, but you have to do it right, or the slightest bit of clam guts could ruin a whole batch. I fried these up with a little change in the ingredients. I added some corn meal because I love the corn battered clams. It was flavorful and a hit with everyone, even my boys - 4 and almost 2 - who would have thought? I found it works best if you fry them hot and quick. They don't turn out rubbery and they are very tender. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will use it over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Lusk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Absolutely the best fried clams I've ever had. I didn't have any crackers, so I substituted with Panko and flour: I had the eggs in one bowl, Panko in another bowl, and then the flour mixed with all the other spices in another bowl. Dipped the clams in the egg, then in the flour mixture, then in the panko and fried till golden brown. Yum!!! My husband, who isn't really a big fan of fried clams, thought they were delicious and ate them right up. Although I've lived in WA for over 15 years, this was my first time digging for, then preparing and eating razor clams. Now I'm a huge fan! =) Note: It's really super important to be sure to clean these clams properly, as well as to make sure they are thoroughly patted dry with paper towels before you begin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sawyer Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Just fried some up, great meal. Followed Ladybug's suggestions and they were spot on! I fried 90 seconds per side, remember they are still cooking once out of the oil. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Wonderful, and super easy. Another way I get to enjoy our seasons catch. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe is the real deal if you are a razor clam fan. We dig up Razor Clams down on Long Beach Washington. This is the recipe we use to fry up the day's catch when we get back to the condo. You can serve with butter, tarter or cocktail sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Preparing and cooking razor clams is a learned gift, if you dont know how they will be very poor in taste and quality. Follow this reciepe and try them you wont be disapointed. To learn how to prepare properly try this web site http://wdfw.wa.gov/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Lacking saltines, I followed ladybug's recommendation and dipped the clams in flour, then egg wash, then panko mixed with seasonings. At medium-high, they only take a few minutes per side. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
OMG! I just made these clams and are they good! We live in Oregon and have been digging razors for 40 years. Cleaned the clams yesterday and cooked them today. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Better than our favorite restaurant in Ocean Shores! I used regular bread crumbs instead of saltines and added a pinch of dried parsley flakes. These disappeared quickly off the serving platter! Definitely will make again, if our local Costco keeps carrying them in their fresh fish section! ...Okay, maybe I'd go dig them if I had to, but I've never done it (sad, lived in Washington all my life and never dug clams!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin-Andy Harder Oliver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. We fried these clams for a holiday dinner appetizer, and everyone enjoyed them. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobridge, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States