Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Rather than using all of that oil, I just sauteed my sliced plantains in a few tablespoons of melted butter until they were slightly browned/carmelized on both sides. Worked great. SO good! Love plantains! Thanks, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
875 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
It is very important to use very ripe plantains for this one. These aren't tostones (fried green plantains). These are called "amarillos". Heather's picture adequately demonstrates this recipe, the other picture is showing fried green plantains, they are different. Amarillos turn out sweet, not crunchy and darker in color when compared to green. I like to use plantains with yellow and black skins or all black. You can eat them by themselves or sometimes I like to sprinkle grated parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
724 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
My husband makes these, we all love them. You didn't mention that if they are green they need to be fried twice, flatten in the middle of cooking. Good with garlic & salt. We also slice them in circles. When very over ripe the sugars come out and caramelize. Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
686 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Wow, there is so much confusion around plantains. I was looking up recipes to post pictures and a lot of people have them mixed up. I grew up with them, so lets see if I can help a bit. Ok, there is only 1 kind of plantain but there are 3 colors, depending on its age. Order is green, yellow, then black. Green is for TOSTONES, or light gold pieces that are cut into rounds, fried, mashed and fried again. They're salty. Personally I like to throw on some minced garlic on top out of a jar with some juice and a sprinkle of salt. Some people go for garlic powder instead. Then you have PLATANOS MADUROS, or ripe plantains that are used to make this sugary version. The color to make these is when your plantain is BLACK. The riper the plantain, the sweeter it is and that's the trick. It should be slightly mushy to the touch. The best way to tell if its good to fry is if, once peeled, its still got a tan color, not brown or black. In my family, we cut these at an angle. These are perfectly sweet as is, so I don't add anything extra. The last is yellow. These are usually not hard enough for tostones, and definitely not soft enough for platanos maduros so some people chop them up and boil them to eat either in or along with soups. They don't taste that good boiled so its not so popular. If it were me, I'd wait til it goes black and make these yummy sugary ones. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
A dear friend from Tennessee introduced my family to fried plantains years ago. We slice them into thin rounds and using a cast-iron skillet fry them up with just a few Tablespoons each of oil and butter. Seasoned with salt, garlic, and a squeeze of fresh lime juice, they make for a great side to a variety of Caribbean and Latin-themed meals. For an addictive snack try adding a sprinkling of chili power or cayenne along with the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Fried Plantains, or "Platanitos Fritos" as they are called, are a traditional side dish in Peru as well as in many parts of South America. Why not serve yours like the Peruvians do, with a juicy steak and a generous portion of rice topped with two sunny-side-up eggs. The meal, called "Bistec a lo Pobre", offers a delicious combination of sweet and salty flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I find that plantains that have turned mostly black are perfect for frying. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great! My mother and grandmother have been making these for years! Another way to cook them is with some mozzerella cheese melted on top. (baked in the oven.) a note- these are NOT the green plantians that someone else mentioned in their review. Those are DIFFERENT. These are the yellow plantains and they should be overly ripe. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I've made these for years and years. My sons love them with crumbled feta cheese on the slices for a salty flavor. Or sprinkle with cinnamon sugar for a sweet flavor...both ways are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I grew up on fried plantains. They were a staple in our house and are still one in mine. Overripe is definately the best. Sprinkle with salt and enjoy. [I typcially pair them with black bean tacos.] They are also good with a little sour cream and a dash of tabasco. If you've never tried them you're really missing out. They are a delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States