Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I've made these for years and years. My sons love them with crumbled feta cheese on the slices for a salty flavor. Or sprinkle with cinnamon sugar for a sweet flavor...both ways are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
My husband makes these, we all love them. You didn't mention that if they are green they need to be fried twice, flatten in the middle of cooking. Good with garlic & salt. We also slice them in circles. When very over ripe the sugars come out and caramelize. Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
683 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I find that plantains that have turned mostly black are perfect for frying. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I grew up on fried plantains. They were a staple in our house and are still one in mine. Overripe is definately the best. Sprinkle with salt and enjoy. [I typcially pair them with black bean tacos.] They are also good with a little sour cream and a dash of tabasco. If you've never tried them you're really missing out. They are a delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Delicious! I cut the plantains into thicker slices and sprinkled with a little sugar after draining on a paper towel. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
We learned about plaintains from our African friends. We adapted their recipe (the same as this one) to our spicy taste buds by using a light, gentle dusting of creole seasoning before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Fried Plantains, or "Platanitos Fritos" as they are called, are a traditional side dish in Peru as well as in many parts of South America. Why not serve yours like the Peruvians do, with a juicy steak and a generous portion of rice topped with two sunny-side-up eggs. The meal, called "Bistec a lo Pobre", offers a delicious combination of sweet and salty flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States