Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. Using butter for frying makes a huge difference. My daughter loves them for dessert dribbled with condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
A dear friend from Tennessee introduced my family to fried plantains years ago. We slice them into thin rounds and using a cast-iron skillet fry them up with just a few Tablespoons each of oil and butter. Seasoned with salt, garlic, and a squeeze of fresh lime juice, they make for a great side to a variety of Caribbean and Latin-themed meals. For an addictive snack try adding a sprinkling of chili power or cayenne along with the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I followed others' suggestions and used butter and also thinly sliced the plantain into rounds. I expected them to be a bit crispier, but they tasted good. I sprinkled powdered sugar and cinnamon on some, salt on others. I liked them equally. I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Easy as pie! I slice the plantain into rounds instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great! My mother and grandmother have been making these for years! Another way to cook them is with some mozzerella cheese melted on top. (baked in the oven.) a note- these are NOT the green plantians that someone else mentioned in their review. Those are DIFFERENT. These are the yellow plantains and they should be overly ripe. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I love fried plantains but could nevevr make them right. They always came out oily tasting. This time I follwed the last reviewers advice and used butter. It tasted like the plantains I eat in restaurants. They had a nice sweetness that what I was yearning for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Rather than using all of that oil, I just sauteed my sliced plantains in a few tablespoons of melted butter until they were slightly browned/carmelized on both sides. Worked great. SO good! Love plantains! Thanks, Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
863 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
My parents are from Jamaica where they eat plaintains and this recipe is exactly as they make it. It can be served with a traditional caribbean dish like one of the fish meals, rice& peas and so on. Yes, plaintains overly ripened are sweet and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
It is very important to use very ripe plantains for this one. These aren't tostones (fried green plantains). These are called "amarillos". Heather's picture adequately demonstrates this recipe, the other picture is showing fried green plantains, they are different. Amarillos turn out sweet, not crunchy and darker in color when compared to green. I like to use plantains with yellow and black skins or all black. You can eat them by themselves or sometimes I like to sprinkle grated parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
710 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Good but somewhat boring by themselves: just a fried thing with a banana flavor. Using a black plantain, they was pretty sweet and therefore good for dessert or possibly a side dish. As they cooled a bit they got sweeter still. But don't let them get too cool -- they're just nasty when cold. I wish I had ice cream or read the other reviews for suggestions for toppings before making these. Had I, this would undoubtedly have been a four star review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States