Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very black and very soft plantains work best to get the carmelization you want. Even during the frying process, if you accidentally burn a couple, those are the pieces that people in my house fight over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN369

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
these are a tradional dish this is also excellent with white homemade spanish creme and refried beans as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Pretty good; I fried them in butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Add a little bit of brown sugar and its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
We love plantanos con crema at the local Salvadoran restaurants, so when I saw a big bag of plantains at Costco for a dollar I went to the web. I used much less oil that this recipe called for- just 3-4 Tbs of canola oil and sauteed them on a non-stick griddle. I served them with non-fat refried beans and plain yogurt. It was a tasty lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe went as simply as it looked. I was intimidated to fry plantains, but this recipe made it easy. Just a minute or two on either side of the slice of plantain will leave it golden and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Marken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Substituted the oil for butter as per other reviews so the plaintains wouldn't come out oily-tasting, and the end result was quite delicious! Just what I was looking for. They are good with many toppings, but I enjoy them best by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
These were so, so good! The rest of my family didn't care too much for them, but that left the whole plate for me! I'll make them again, so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I learned to make this when i was just 12 years old i wasn't allowed to make them but i did remember the recipe. They are a great snack for children my two girls don't eat them they devour them and the response is always the same I want more. Have to try the cinammon and powdered sugar on them to see. But with or without the toppings they are still a very tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. Using butter for frying makes a huge difference. My daughter loves them for dessert dribbled with condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States