Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I used overly ripe plantains (they were black) and fried them in 1 TBSP of butter and 1/2 TBSP canola oil. Very sweet and addictive. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I tried this recipe out until I perfected it for our liking... My daughter and I finally got it when we coated the bottom of the pan with oil, but then added slivers of butter to it. (we like the buttery flavor) We also came up with our own sauce to drizzle on them... all I had "creamy" in my fridge was whipping cream, so I added some brown sugar to it (instead of putting it directly on the bananas). I heated the mixture up til it thickened...and it was like a carmel sauce!!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
We do live in a small world. I spent some time in Africa, and that's where I discovered the fried plantain. It is my favorite treats. I made it last week and sprinkled some cinammon on the plantain before frying. Delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Pretty good - but not as good as the fried plantains I remember from being in the islands. I don't know what my friends mother did to them to make them sooooo yummy. But I will keep making these when I have plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by vcoder
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcoder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I love fried plantains. But when I make them I coat both sides in sugar which caramelizes in the oil and then serve with real maple syrup. It adds a lot of calories, but it sure is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I grew up eating these. In my house my mom made the green ones too (platanos), but my favorite ones are the black ones. I don't make them so often anymore, but when I do, I pick the very ripe ones. You don't find the black ones in the stores very often, but you can take them home and put them in a paper bag in a dark place to speed the process of ripening (about 2 or 3 days). I fry mine on medium heat with lots of butter and cinnamon sticks until they are dark golden brown. I serve them topped with Parmesan cheese, ground cinnamon, and a few drizzles of sweet condensed milk. It's rich and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
It looks so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Personally I think fried plantains are too greasy. I grill mine in the oven. I lightly oil parchment paper. Place thick slices plaintain on them (ripe ones). And grill them. When done sprinkle with seasalt. Soo yummy and tasty. Eat them when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Being from Puerto RIco I love plantains, green or ripe. I cook them either with oil, you don't need much, or butter. But if you are watching calories you just cut the plantains in half leaving the skin on and boil them in water. When the sking starts separating they are ready. Peel them and Yum!!!. Just as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YARI5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States