Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by vcoder
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcoder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I love fried plantains. But when I make them I coat both sides in sugar which caramelizes in the oil and then serve with real maple syrup. It adds a lot of calories, but it sure is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I grew up eating these. In my house my mom made the green ones too (platanos), but my favorite ones are the black ones. I don't make them so often anymore, but when I do, I pick the very ripe ones. You don't find the black ones in the stores very often, but you can take them home and put them in a paper bag in a dark place to speed the process of ripening (about 2 or 3 days). I fry mine on medium heat with lots of butter and cinnamon sticks until they are dark golden brown. I serve them topped with Parmesan cheese, ground cinnamon, and a few drizzles of sweet condensed milk. It's rich and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
It looks so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Personally I think fried plantains are too greasy. I grill mine in the oven. I lightly oil parchment paper. Place thick slices plaintain on them (ripe ones). And grill them. When done sprinkle with seasalt. Soo yummy and tasty. Eat them when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Being from Puerto RIco I love plantains, green or ripe. I cook them either with oil, you don't need much, or butter. But if you are watching calories you just cut the plantains in half leaving the skin on and boil them in water. When the sking starts separating they are ready. Peel them and Yum!!!. Just as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YARI5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I guess you either love them or you hate them. Mine turned out okay, not like the ones I got from this Puerto Rican restaurant though. My boyfriend prefers tostones over these too. I'm half and half, I just wish I could make them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
So delicious and easy to make! I tend to use my wok to cook them since it requires less oil. I absolutely love them with chili pepper sprinkled on them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
These were delicious! We used just enough oil to fill the pan about a quarter inch. We also served them with Mexican creme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
i've always loved fried plantains, but i drizzle mine with a sour cream and cinnamon mixture... and the riper they are, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States