Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
growing up in a home where both of your parents are from Trinidad & Tobago i grew up eating fried plantains as a sweet treat or an after dinner dessert i love fried plnatains sometimes my mom bakes them (but i dont like them baked as much as i like them fried,and the first few times the plantains didn't come out correctly)but if you feel unconfortable about using so much oil just use a large,wide,and shallow frying pan but this takes more time and you have to flip the plantains every 15 minutes (if the heat is on medium) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Awesome. I didn't have the skill to cut lengthwise pieces and cut circles instead - worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
never had plantains before. We picked this up as a supplement to a homeschool lesson. We waited until it was almost black, and then tried to peel it. I had to cut the peel off with a knife. anyway, we fried them in coconut oil - the ones that cooked the longest tasted the best, and then we added sugar and cinnamon. it was a winner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
These were yummy. I used very ripe plantains and instead of all oil, I used about 1 tbsp of butter and 2 of oil - it was plenty. Topped with a little sugar -kids gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
If you guys like sweet plantains try this. I ad a tablespoon of Agave nectar for every two plantains, then fry in a butter an olive oil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Just tried making it for the first time. We loved it. It's really easy to make and easier to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyLuv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I used overly ripe plantains (they were black) and fried them in 1 TBSP of butter and 1/2 TBSP canola oil. Very sweet and addictive. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I tried this recipe out until I perfected it for our liking... My daughter and I finally got it when we coated the bottom of the pan with oil, but then added slivers of butter to it. (we like the buttery flavor) We also came up with our own sauce to drizzle on them... all I had "creamy" in my fridge was whipping cream, so I added some brown sugar to it (instead of putting it directly on the bananas). I heated the mixture up til it thickened...and it was like a carmel sauce!!! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
We do live in a small world. I spent some time in Africa, and that's where I discovered the fried plantain. It is my favorite treats. I made it last week and sprinkled some cinammon on the plantain before frying. Delicious!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Pretty good - but not as good as the fried plantains I remember from being in the islands. I don't know what my friends mother did to them to make them sooooo yummy. But I will keep making these when I have plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States