Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Mariakins
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was a staple in my household growing up. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought they were very bland. They kind of tasted like potato. They were not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I LOVE fried plantains! I was first introduced to them in Miami, Florida. I forgot about them until we went on vacation to Costa Rica. Guess what I had for breakfast EVERY morning while I was there! I sometimes top my plantains with maple syrup if I have an extra sweet tooth. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbilovesben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We have never had plantains before but decided to buy some and see what it was all about. The first time I made it, I was unaware that an overly ripe plantain was not yellow but black. When it turned from green to yellow we tried. It tasted kinda like raw potatoes to us. I tried this again today with BLACK plantains and I still didn't like it. I put all kinds of things on top and nothing worked for me. I tried sugar, cinn sugar, salt, garlic powder and sour cream. We simply did not like it. After 2 attempts I won't be making it again. I guess our taste buds just cant accept these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
DELICIOUS! So easy and rewarding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
try them with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Very good. Not so sold on the frying part, but I don't really like to fry. however, they are sweet and crispy and soft all at the same time. Bf complained they were "soggy" but he was confusing yucca root with plantains. Not sure how that happened, but once he figured it out he decided they were good. I supposed I'll have to find some yucca root now . . .thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Wow, there is so much confusion around plantains. I was looking up recipes to post pictures and a lot of people have them mixed up. I grew up with them, so lets see if I can help a bit. Ok, there is only 1 kind of plantain but there are 3 colors, depending on its age. Order is green, yellow, then black. Green is for TOSTONES, or light gold pieces that are cut into rounds, fried, mashed and fried again. They're salty. Personally I like to throw on some minced garlic on top out of a jar with some juice and a sprinkle of salt. Some people go for garlic powder instead. Then you have PLATANOS MADUROS, or ripe plantains that are used to make this sugary version. The color to make these is when your plantain is BLACK. The riper the plantain, the sweeter it is and that's the trick. It should be slightly mushy to the touch. The best way to tell if its good to fry is if, once peeled, its still got a tan color, not brown or black. In my family, we cut these at an angle. These are perfectly sweet as is, so I don't add anything extra. The last is yellow. These are usually not hard enough for tostones, and definitely not soft enough for platanos maduros so some people chop them up and boil them to eat either in or along with soups. They don't taste that good boiled so its not so popular. If it were me, I'd wait til it goes black and make these yummy sugary ones. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These came out very good. I made them the savory/salty way and dip/seasonings take this to a five star. I mixed some garlic, mayo and ranch dressing together to make a dip. When I was done frying them, I sprinkled them with a bit of garlic salt. It mostly bounces off, so if your dip is flavorful enough, you can always skip that step. Plantains can go either way, but mine were very green and potato-like. I look forward to ripening some up to black, frying them up, and sprinkling them with cinnamon and sugar. Just a note, I sliced them on a slant, about 3/4-1 inch thick. Fried them in a little oil in a skillet, and after they were golden on each side, I set them on paper towels, smashed them flat(ish) with the bottom of a cup, and them fried them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Yuummm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States