Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
sooo yummy . Definitely have to use VERY ripe plantains though . Like fully black , so that the sugars extract , otherwise you get hard bitter chips . ick . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine-lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
A good recipe overall- I might just tweak it for a couple minor reasons. For 5 people, 2 plantains was barely enough, so I would next time use 3. Also, a note to healthy eaters: you don't have to deep fry the plantains! I added less than 1/4 cup of oil to the plantains and they tasted great! Worth a try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Simple...brings back memories at home of Jamaica vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Simple and to the point. Make sure the plantains are nice and ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIKINZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My favorite is to dip them in mango chutney sauce after frying...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is more of a technique than recipe, but it's great to see it on AR for those who are unfamiliar to delicious plantains. It's key to use plantains that are black or almost black because they carmelize so much better. I just put a bit of oil in a skillet, slice the plantains on an extreme bias (so they are like extremely slanted "coins) , and fry on each side until a deep brown. I sprinkle them with kosher salt and that's it. It's a perfect sweet/salty combo that's simple yet yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy-tasted just like ones I've ordered at restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I used butter instead of oil. Very tasty. Good the way they were but I added sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
She didnt mention about the "green plantains" because the recipe call for "overly ripe" ........ which escaped your ability to comprehend what you had read. For "newbies" the plantains used here should be the black oily looking ones. Cooking them requires just watching them as you fry them since its always going to be a little different fry time depending on what they look like. You want them dark brown but not burnt. The oil was fine and is standard but dont be afraid to experiment. If anyone knows LADYJAYPEE please help her read her recipes from now on since she cant follow simple directions and THEN wants to under-rate a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefTastic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent and SO easy! Thought I bought green bananas the other day... nope! Plantains! I made half of them green today with this recipe and followed others' tips to fry once, remove, drain, dip in a bowl of salted water, FLATTEN (the "rehydration" makes them easier to smush with the spatula), then re-fry. I fried a couple pretty dark & crispy; they were delicious anyway. Tried them with Parmesan cheese as suggested also; could not believe how good that was. If you like savory, you'll love it. Letting the rest blacken up in a bag. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States