Fried Plantains Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I fry the yellow ones with butter, cinnamon and honey. The green ones I fry like the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I cook them or 1 - 3 minutes on each side, remove from the pan, leaving the pan on the heat to keep the oil hot. Then I place the plantains freezer paper (non wax side) fold the freezer paper over the pieces and press them a little to break up the starch and thin them out a bit. Put them back in the pan and finish cooking for another 1 - 3 minutes on each side. After removing from the oil, let them rest a bit on a paper towel. While they're resting I dust them with confectioners sugar or brown suga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I haven't tried this recipe yet but it seems kind of bland, any thoughts?? I use 2-3tbs of butter (coconut oil is good too) melt on med-low heat not med-high (plantains have I higher sugar content & burns easy) I slice lengthwise, place face down to cook. Once it starts to brown I flip & add 2Tbs of brown sugar, 1tps cinnamon, 1tps of natural vanilla & a little more butter to make it like a glaze!! It's the only way I've ever had them & they are amazing! Just thought I would check & see other ways to make plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I would give these plantains 6 out of 5 stars if it were possible. I've tried fried plantains at different restaurants across the city, and these home-made ones have been the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It was delicious, simple to make and fast! The more ripe the better, as the recipe states!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happydee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Fried Plantains are really a great alternative to french fries and if prepared in the right oil they can be a lot healthier!!! My kids love them as a snack or with a meal. You have to be really careful that they do not burn. The amount of sugars in the plantains can cause them to caramelize really fast and they will totally burn if you don't stay right on top of them. I salt them AFTER I fry but right before they hit the paper towel to absorb the excess grease/salt... A little pepper and a few minutes to cool and BAM you are eating a healthy alternative to french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe, and found it to be very delectable! I did alter the recipe somewhat, 1. I used 1-tsp of butter and 1-tsp olive oil; 2.sprinkled a 1-tbsp. of brown sugar on the plantains, after browning them on all sides. then Bon-Apatite! -Doc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Blech. Used very ripe plantain and tasted like oil-fried banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancanuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very good, still working on how long to let them ripen. However, I cooked them in coconut oil. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Deep Fried OREOS

See the easy way to make this creamy, crunchy fair favorite at home.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States