Fried Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The BEST Pie that i have ever made. I use this dough for ALL of my pies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was the first time I ever made pie crust from scratch. I worked perfectly for my fried pies, and I plan to use it for my fresh pumpkin pies this year. The only this I did differently was to use 1/4 cup of lard and 1/2 cup of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margie Ewing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I have made this recipe two years in a row now, for hundreds of mini-apple-pies fried up & served at a local fall festival. This PASTRY gets the rave reviews and fanatic repeat customers, even more than the local-apple-filling! Thanks for the absolutely great recipe - I don't change a thing except I use lard for the shortening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I put myself through college making fried pies - if you are having trouble keeping dough together, instead of using one egg in the recipe, use two egg whites whipped to a light merigue stage...it gives the dough some elasticity...I have never added vinegar either...I have also used my chocolate and coconut cream pie fillings in my fried pies - raves for them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
With all of the other great reviews, it's possible that I did something wrong, but I really feel like I followed the directions to a "t". I was skeptical when the "ball" started out as a crumbly and difficult mess. Once I got it together and into the fridge, I was hopeful. But 2 hours later, it was a pain to roll out without falling apart. When I finally got it into a tolerable shape and into the fryer, it only took a minute for it to crumble to pieces again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
After reading comments about having problems, such as the dough falling apart, I wanted to remind those people the dough has to be cold when rolling it out and before frying the pies. So, work fast once you bring the dough out from the fridge and if it gets too warm, put it back into fridge until it firms/hardens up. Then after making the pies, put them into the fridge for 10 minutes or so to make them firm again before frying. I’m thinking the only reason anyone should have any problems with this recipe is that the dough got too warm to work with. Hope this helps everyone that is having problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I may have done something wrong--this recipe has so many great reviews--but it was a disaster for me ... completely fell apart when I tried to fry the pies ... thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
March 2009 - I made this last night using a can of cherry pie filling. After I fried the pies I drained them on paper towels and generously coated them with powdered sugar. Last night they were crispy warm and yummy. This morning, they were even better! I was very pleased to discover that when I placed the cooled pies in the fridge in a foil covered place, this morning they were still flaky and delicious! Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Don't know what i did wrong but it came out a big flop :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I this recipe more than once before giving this kind of rating. I'm certain this dough recipe is great for other kinds of pies (it worked for baked) but it was not a good fried pie dough for me. I tried adjusting flour, mixing longer, mixing shorter, different oil temps and even different types of oil! Just couldn't get it to work for me. I don't need to be making fried pies anyway. Everyone raved about the flaky dough when I baked my turnover/pie creations though. So I'm going to say good recipe...for baked pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States