Fried Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Awesome recipe. I did not use the seafood seasoning because I did not have it. But I did use the Cajun and it was good. It tasted just like eating out. Also, I picked this recipe because it did not have eggs. I was beginning to think you could not fry pickles without eggs. Thanks so much poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
The first time I ever saw these on a menu, I thought it was a joke. Then, I ate one. Fried pickles are so delicious and this recipe makes them turn out crisp and yummy. I've always dipped them in plain ranch dressing but the cajun seasoned kick to it is a great touch. Don't be afraid to try these - you'll be hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was perfect and exactly what i was looking for. I did not have buttermilk, so i used regular milk insted. MY husband and kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
When I saw this recipe the thought that crossed my mind was, How weird! But I was very curious about what it wouls taste like so I made them. And I was pleasantly surprised! They are so good. I did it for a womans night. We felt like real men, eating fried pickles and drinking beer! Haaha! It is worth a try and I will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMammaChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
was excited to make these at home but this recipe was nothing like what we've had at a pub. too grainy and the mixture was not thick enough. tried some beer batter mix and it worked so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I love fried pickles, but this was a disappointment. I believe it calls for too much cornmeal, the breading as a result was thin and absorbed all the grease. tasted greasy and heavy, but ok for a midnight munchie I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
have tried to make fried pickles MANY times, this is the only recipe that really hit the spot!!! Thank you! Used all flour instead of cornmeal as I did not have any, also no seafood seasoning as I didn't have it, but everything else I did exact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SecretFatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Very good ! I did not use the spices. The cornmeal gives it crunch !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I was a little (alright alot) skeptical about this, but after reading the reviews AND seeing them on Food Network I had to give them a try.... YUMMY! Wow.. Can't wait to make more!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hthranne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
These were so good. We are a gluten free family so we used our normal gluten free flour blend in place of the AP Flour and it worked wonderfully. Crispy yummy fried pickles. Thanks so much for sharing! Update- I just realized that I didn't even notice last time that there was more cornmeal than flour so I used 3/4 c flour and 3/4 cornmeal, and you won't be disappointed. Whatever amount you use, just use equal parts flour and cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States