Fried Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I thought this was delicious. I didnt have any cornmeal so I used some bread cumbs (a little less than amount of flour used) and I added a splash of cayenne pepper, and a little paprika. I also used garlic oil. I made other recipies on this site using the egg and ect, and thought this recipie was much tastier and easier to make. I havent got to the making a dipping sauce yet cause I didnt need one. great recipie, this one makes the recipie book. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I think it needs a little more spice also a cup of cornmeal is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I used a coarser cornmeal than called for, and regretted it. I'd definitely use a fine cornmeal in the future. Also, I used really crunchy pickles because those are the kind I eat normally, but if I were to use this recipe in the future I'd buy ones a tid-bit less crunchy. I forgot to add the cajun seasoning, and the taste overall was a bit bland. I had my own dipping sauce which did help. Overall, the recipe itself was o.k. but nothing compared to fried pickles I've eaten in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
The cooking time on the top of this recipe is misleading. It actually takes only 1.5 mins to cook. My 11 year old son, a connoisseur of fried pickles, and I just whipped these up in 5 mins total. They are crispy and yummy. We cooked ours in a deep fryer. They really don't need a dipping sauce, if you are looking to cut carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I love fried pickles, but this was a disappointment. I believe it calls for too much cornmeal, the breading as a result was thin and absorbed all the grease. tasted greasy and heavy, but ok for a midnight munchie I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a great recipe! I didn't use very much cornmeal, just enough for a light crunch, but these were very tasty, and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I did not like this at all. It would be a great coating for fried okra but it was too corn mealey for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
When I saw this recipe the thought that crossed my mind was, How weird! But I was very curious about what it wouls taste like so I made them. And I was pleasantly surprised! They are so good. I did it for a womans night. We felt like real men, eating fried pickles and drinking beer! Haaha! It is worth a try and I will make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMammaChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
FUN AND TASTY RECIPE,MY KIDS LOVE THE CAJUN DIPPING SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
was excited to make these at home but this recipe was nothing like what we've had at a pub. too grainy and the mixture was not thick enough. tried some beer batter mix and it worked so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Carolyn’s KOOL-AID Pickles

Give ordinary pickles bright color and add fruity sweetness to the tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States