Fried Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made it exactly as described. It needed a little more salt, and perhaps some more spice. But it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is even better than what you can get at Cracker Barrel. As some other reviewers have stated, some breading will fall off during the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I made this for my husband and myself. I used frozen Okra though. we found it to be bland & chewy. The chewy part could of been because we used frozen, not sure?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Perfect! I will only use this recipe for my okra. Also it works so well on fried green beans! Light and just enough crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very nice basic recipe. I added Cayenne pepper for more Louisiana flavor, add whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I had been craving fried okra and seen this recipe. I used Lefty's Spiced cornmeal and added cayenne pepper seasoning to the cornmeal....delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Linwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I tried it for the first time today I loved it I used season bread crumbs instead of cornmeal. I will continue to make this, thank u.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is a good basic starting point. I made as directed then, I added my own touches to it. Instead of salt I used 1/4 tsp Cajun seasoning, I then added 3 tablespoons of milk to three eggs, makes it easier to soak for the recommended time and the batter clings to the okra nicer. A helpful hint if you coat the okra in the batter generously after soaking in the egg wash then place all the okra in a large ziplock plastic bag with the excess dry mix. put in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes to chill, then shake well in the bag before frying the batter will stick better. But over all I enjoyed the recipe.. Thank You for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I used the advice to add a little flour and make sure the oil was at the right temp and this recipe worked great!!! I had to keep popping the hands out of the plate as I was trying to set the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Really tasty and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States