Fried Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLCPaladin
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I'm not from the south, but I thought this recipe was okay but could be much better with some tweaks. I thought the texture of the cornmeal bredding was good (see my alterations below), but the coating was bland. It either needed: a) to be sweeter b) to be spicier or c) to be accompanied by a dipping sauce link ranch, dill, or horseradish. Something along those lines could easily make this a 5-star recipe. Nevertheless, it was very fun for me to cook and is a good starting point. Here are my alterations, which are basically what is recommended by several other reviewers: I used 1/2 cup flour (whole wheat white) and 1/2 cup cornmeal for the breading. I also used 1 beaten egg and 1/4 cup of milk. I would recommend using a cooking thermometer to check the oil temp before you add the dredged okra because everyone's stove is just a bit different. I let my oil get to 375 degrees Fahrenheit before I added the mixture and then dropped the temperature a bit so it stayed between 300 and 350 degrees as recommended on Martha Stewart's site for frying okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLCPaladin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Quick and delicious! It's a go-to recipe when okra from the garden is picked. Light batter lets the flavor of the okra shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Good southern recipe! Here's a tip I found on another site to avoid the sliminess that okra produces: Soak your sliced okra in enough cold water to cover it, then squeeze in the juice of one lime and let your okra sit for 10 to 15 minutes before you cook it. Best tip I've encountered yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I loooooove fried okra but hated the mess associated with making it, there is always left over oil and mix. having said that, this recipe is so easy and fantastic, I didn't entirely minded. I didn't have just cornmeal and was thankful another reviewer said a cornbread mix would work as well. I would like a little more batter so next time I will try with flourin the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this exactly as written... it was good, just needs more seasoning as I thought it was a bit bland with all the cornmeal... good base recipe though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I thought the breading was dry. The okra was tender. I think it should be more of a batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
FABULOUS! Although we were out of cornmeal - - so I improvised.... First I let the okra sit in an egg/milk bath for about 10 minutes, then dipped in Italian bread crumbs - fried in vegetable oil until crisp & brown.. My family RAVED about it.. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I used a package of Martha White Mexican Style cornbread & muffin mix and turned out great. Easy, fast, no mess and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Too much of my batter fell off. But I will try it again! It was super good. I added some season salt for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Easy Peasy! My first time for fried okra and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States