Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was a MESS! I consulted with someone I know that works in an Itailan restaurant, and this is NOT the way you make them! All you need is a few beaten eggs, and some itailan flavored bread crumbs with a little garlic powder mixed in. First dip the mozz. sticks in the egg mixture then the italian bread crumbs, then back in the egg mixture then back in the bread crumb mixture. Make sure they are completely coated. The oil shouldn't be any hotter then 350 degrees, then put the sticks in the oil for just about a minute, just until they float up to the top of the surface, and they're done! You can also use the same procedure with a block of mozz. Just don't cut the block any thicker then 1/4 inch. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
One small tip. If you freeze the mozzarella sticks before coating and frying they will not melt in the hot fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
794 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
These were delicious and not hard to make. My minor improvisations included: cutting the cheese sticks in half (so my 8 became 16) and using plain bread crumbs with about 2 tsps mixed Italian seasoning. I also followed the advice of several reviewers: First, I combined the flour/starch mixture with the breadcrumbs. It was a huge time-saver and didn't seem to impact the end result. I also tried both double & triple coating and found that a double coat was sufficient for my taste. When the batter got a little clumpy, I simply moulded the clumps around the cheese for a slightly thicker coat. This part was a little messy, but other than that, it wasn't too bad. I coated all of the sticks before frying and set them aside on a plate. This turned out to be great advice because the frying really only takes about 30 seconds, and if you turn your back for too long, the sticks will burn. I did not have any problem with cheese leaking out, and the end result was truly restaurant quality. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Ok, I was a sceptic if this could be done at home! THANK YOU! I am a Happy Believer!!! I just finished making a batch of these and I am still smiling...WOW! This was SUPER! First to make it easy and to make sure they "looked" like cheese sticks-shape-wise, I used Sargento Mozarella sticks, I unwrapped each and cut in half. I had 3 separate bowls setup w/ mixtures as described. I dipped each moz stick in egg mix, then flour mix, then egg mix, then bread crumb mix-making sure they were coated well. Then I put in oil. NOT ONE leaked!! I had to watch these little suckers cause they brown really fast! I let them cool a few minutes and served with little cups of pizza sauce for dipping. My 4 kids and hubby ADORED them and can't get enough. Considering these cost alot on dinners out--they are a KEEPER! WORD OF ADVICE: Use latex gloves to keep hands clean, this can get messy, and if making more than a dozen the mixes get goopy, so for large batches have extra mixes ready! otherwise..would give 10 stars if I could! THANKS SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine Santiago Peterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I have tried many and failed. Since Mozzarella is a soft cheese, it works better to freeze the cheese first before frying and it thaws perfectly without leaking. Let them sit before serving and it's own heat will continue to make the cheese soft. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This recipe was very tasty and worked out fairly well. However, you have to be sure to coat each mozzerella stick very well otherwise the cheese will melt and seep out into the oil. I breaded each stick twice (once in the liquid, then breadcrumbs then again) for better coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Terrific! I used not only mozarella, but also cheddar and pepper jack cheeses. I made these in the morning and then froze them. We used our Fry Daddy and they came out perfect. No leakage, just a good little appetizer! Thanks Nanci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I luv these!!! I used a block of mozzerella cheese and cut it into sticks and I also double dipped them. As long as you don't over cook and make sure they are fully coated with the batter they will not leak. My family ate this up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Will never make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
loved this recipe! Very easy and quick and my whole family loved it! They even complained when they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States