Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These were delish.. I took the advice of other reviewers and froze the cheese for about 20 mins before coating. I would've froze longer but hungry children were rushing me :) i also didn't add water to the eggs bc I just didn't see a reason to. They turned out great. I did have to dip a few of them twice in the egg and bread crumbs to make sure they were totally coated. Ate them with a side of marinara for dipping. Super easy and tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaguerra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Glendale, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made these last night. This is a wonderful and easy recipe. Turned out wonderful! I cut the cheese sticks in half and I froze them for about 3 hours after I breaded them. Those who have said that it is messy, this is no more messy than breading any other food item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I loved the batter. It is definitely better than 98% of the fried cheese sticks I've ever had. The only change I would make is to freeze the battered stIcks before frying like someone else recommended because the cheese oozed out all over the place. Don't get me wrong-I love my cheese gooey and oozy but it's just harder to work with like that. Will definitely make again exactly as written... Just adding in a little freezer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
for the people who sticks didn't come out right or melted, it's common sense to coat the sticks than freeze them for a least 30 minutes to an hour. Also the best sauce for these is pizza sauce. I usually take tomato sauce, tomato paste, garlic powder, italian seasoning, and parsley and mix them together. It's rather delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelycook89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These were really good, I did cut mine in half. I also added the powder ranch dressing to the bread crumbs instead of itilian seasoning..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I LOVE it! My whole family ate it all. Especially my brother he loves cheese. Thanks for this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was my first time making mozza sticks and they turned out fantastic! I followed the recipe to a tee for the most part. I did stick a toothpick in one end of each bare stick, froze them for 30 minutes, then proceeded, using the toothpick as my "handle" to keep my fingers out of the entire operation. 30-40 seconds in the oil is all you need so be on the ball! They tasted excellent and were of restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe did not work for me because the coating does not adequately seal and protect the mozzarella sticks from melting and escaping into the frying oil. For starters, the eggs are excessively thinned and lose their ability to effectively hold the bread crumbs. Only a teaspoon or so of water should be added to the beaten eggs. Even with less thinned eggs it is still necessary to coat the cheese sticks three or four times; once with flour and two or three times with bread crumbs (egg wash between each dry coating). Oil can be as hot as 375F. The shorter time the cheese sticks are in the oil the less chance there is of the coating breaking and the cheese melting into the oil or oil into cheese stick. The need for cornstarch in the flour is questionable. Do not use toasted bread crumbs or panko. Adding a teaspoon of onion powder improved the flavor of the breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These cheese sticks are awesome if you have never tried them before you really should. They R-O-C-K! Thanks Nanci Renn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I ended up with a metly mess/the crumbs did not stick. Not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States