Fried Mac and Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Swisscoco
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made for Christmas and they were a hit! I fried one as a tester and the middle was still cold so I put the remainder in the microwave on defrost for 50 seconds and the came out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was awesome! I made some changes that made it wayyyy better the second time around. I used the four cheese gourmet kraft mac an cheese.. The cheese sauce with that is a lot thicker.. I then added a package of cream cheese and two cups of cheddar jack cheese.. This made it really thick and easier to ball up! I used smoked paprika and doubled the spices in the bread crumb mix... I kept the balls of Mac and cheese in the freezer for four hours before placing them in the egg wash and frying them... After frying I baked them in the oven at 350 degrees for ten to fifteen minutes to get that hot gooey center! My boyfriend and roommates ate them up like crazy.. Including my roomie who is a professional chef! When I presented them I dusted them with Parmesan cheese on top to add to the flavor and they looked so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My sister and I made these with leftover pesto mac n' cheese and they were delicious! Served with marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
As usual with the recipes here, this was a hard recipe to rate. If I were to rate it based on exactly how its listed, I would give it a Just Ok. If I were to rate it based on some mods, I would give it a 4 or 5. I did not have any issues with the balls being cold in the middle. Im guessing that the people that had these issues made their balls were too big, left in the freezer way too long, or not fried in 350 oil. As is, the balls came out ok. I added way more cheese than called for and all the spices, but little to no real flavor. They are probably good enough for kids. For a more grown up version that has more flavor, try the following. Bacon adds a lot of flavor and needed salt. Onion powder or the real thing does wonders for cheese. You will also get some amazing flavor by adding Rotel. I would also recommend doubling and even tripling the recommended spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Next time will freeze it longer like recipe says. It ended up being dry. Otherwise the cheese is tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So cheesy! salty. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Hey, concerning the freezing and frying issue with some of your reviewers (center still frozen), freeze them only 30-45 minutes, Not till completely frozen! The original intent is to freeze the outer portion/crust/mantle to enable and then coat and fry with ease. Just a thought. Another option, fry them once, return them to a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, then warm until serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I had fried cheese balls at TGI Friday's that were yummy!!... so I wanted to try making them myself for a July 4th party with the neighbors. I followed the basic recipe, and they turned out great! Based on the party, I fried 2/3 of them and left the rest in the freezer for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westchester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Yes I tried this recipe it was awesome my family loved it and want me to make again soon. I notice I could have used less bread crumbs. I think next time I will use only 1 cup or 1 1/2 cups 2 cups is to much. Great flavor. I'm glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
If you are concerned about the centers not thawing, try this: line a cookie sheet with waxed paper - add a thin layer of oil. Spread the mac 'n cheese mix about 1/2" thick across the entire sheet. Freeze for 1 hour. Remove, cut into squares or triangles with a pizza cutter, then return to freezer to finish setting up. Not balls, but a very even cooking surface nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States