Fried Mac and Cheese Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My sister and I made these with leftover pesto mac n' cheese and they were delicious! Served with marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
As usual with the recipes here, this was a hard recipe to rate. If I were to rate it based on exactly how its listed, I would give it a Just Ok. If I were to rate it based on some mods, I would give it a 4 or 5. I did not have any issues with the balls being cold in the middle. Im guessing that the people that had these issues made their balls were too big, left in the freezer way too long, or not fried in 350 oil. As is, the balls came out ok. I added way more cheese than called for and all the spices, but little to no real flavor. They are probably good enough for kids. For a more grown up version that has more flavor, try the following. Bacon adds a lot of flavor and needed salt. Onion powder or the real thing does wonders for cheese. You will also get some amazing flavor by adding Rotel. I would also recommend doubling and even tripling the recommended spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Next time will freeze it longer like recipe says. It ended up being dry. Otherwise the cheese is tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So cheesy! salty. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Hey, concerning the freezing and frying issue with some of your reviewers (center still frozen), freeze them only 30-45 minutes, Not till completely frozen! The original intent is to freeze the outer portion/crust/mantle to enable and then coat and fry with ease. Just a thought. Another option, fry them once, return them to a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, then warm until serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I had fried cheese balls at TGI Friday's that were yummy!!... so I wanted to try making them myself for a July 4th party with the neighbors. I followed the basic recipe, and they turned out great! Based on the party, I fried 2/3 of them and left the rest in the freezer for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westchester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Yes I tried this recipe it was awesome my family loved it and want me to make again soon. I notice I could have used less bread crumbs. I think next time I will use only 1 cup or 1 1/2 cups 2 cups is to much. Great flavor. I'm glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
If you are concerned about the centers not thawing, try this: line a cookie sheet with waxed paper - add a thin layer of oil. Spread the mac 'n cheese mix about 1/2" thick across the entire sheet. Freeze for 1 hour. Remove, cut into squares or triangles with a pizza cutter, then return to freezer to finish setting up. Not balls, but a very even cooking surface nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I went to my local cheese shop and asked them for their advice. They suggested three different cheeses, which were wonderful. A gruyère, 'soft smelly' cheese, and a third I can't remember. I also used panko break crumbs instead of seasoned break crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KendraDarigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These weren't as hard as they seem. I always prep ahead anyway, so leaving them in the freezer wasn't a big deal. I didn't bother making pimento cheese, just used 2 cups cheddar and added some mayo to the mix (1/4 cup maybe?). I think I'm going to try using plain bread crumbs next time, the Italian seasoned ones are a bit too "much" for my liking. Made about 24 like recipe says but I only dredged and fried 8 and left the rest in the freezer for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States