Fried Irish Cabbage with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
One word... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We had almost a whole head of cabbage left in the fridge from another recipe and I didn't want to waste it. I'm so glad we tried this, it's delicious but definitely a treat with all the bacon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Raised in the South, we love our cabbage.. any way you fix it! I had to modify this recipe a bit with bacon drippings only since I didn't have any bacon on hand. My family loves everything spicy, so I seasoned it up with some garlic salt, salt and pepper, and a drop or two of liquid smoke flavoring. Then put a lid on and sauteed til wilted and crisp tender. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was so Yummy!!!! Even my husband who doesn't like cabbage tried it and loved it!! I did add bout a half tble spoon of brown sugar, and lil bit of white sugar, salt and pepper. That added just a perfect amout of sweetness! I will def make this again! It was so nice to find a recipe just like what my mother used to make when I was a child! It sure brought back some memories of her cooking!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
quick easy and delicious although i used blanched cabbage left over from making cabbage rolls....and added a small onion near the end of cooking the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Super good and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My grandmother used to make this for our Sunday dinners, so when I used this recipe, it sure brought back some pleasant memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We make this adding onions and noodles boiled in chicken broth, Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I added 2 tablespoon dijan mustard and 1 tablespoon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Now that I've found this recipe again, I just wanted to give a review. I made this last night and it was yummy. I used 2 small heads of cabbage, so I doubled the bacon drippings amount. That was a bit much. Came out a lot greasier than I like but still edible. The only other minor changes I made were, I added 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and only crumbled 10 strips of bacon into the cabbage. Next time I make this, and there will be a next time, I will stick to the 1/4 cup of drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States