Fried Irish Cabbage with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My grandmother used to make this for our Sunday dinners, so when I used this recipe, it sure brought back some pleasant memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We make this adding onions and noodles boiled in chicken broth, Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
One word... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was so Yummy!!!! Even my husband who doesn't like cabbage tried it and loved it!! I did add bout a half tble spoon of brown sugar, and lil bit of white sugar, salt and pepper. That added just a perfect amout of sweetness! I will def make this again! It was so nice to find a recipe just like what my mother used to make when I was a child! It sure brought back some memories of her cooking!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I added 2 tablespoon dijan mustard and 1 tablespoon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Super good and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
quick easy and delicious although i used blanched cabbage left over from making cabbage rolls....and added a small onion near the end of cooking the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We had almost a whole head of cabbage left in the fridge from another recipe and I didn't want to waste it. I'm so glad we tried this, it's delicious but definitely a treat with all the bacon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Raised in the South, we love our cabbage.. any way you fix it! I had to modify this recipe a bit with bacon drippings only since I didn't have any bacon on hand. My family loves everything spicy, so I seasoned it up with some garlic salt, salt and pepper, and a drop or two of liquid smoke flavoring. Then put a lid on and sauteed til wilted and crisp tender. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Now that I've found this recipe again, I just wanted to give a review. I made this last night and it was yummy. I used 2 small heads of cabbage, so I doubled the bacon drippings amount. That was a bit much. Came out a lot greasier than I like but still edible. The only other minor changes I made were, I added 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and only crumbled 10 strips of bacon into the cabbage. Next time I make this, and there will be a next time, I will stick to the 1/4 cup of drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States