Fried Irish Cabbage with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I live in the South and this recipe is a staple in all households. There is nothing better if you like cabbage. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I love this recipe but I put onion and green peppers in the bacon drippings until they soften and then add the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is soooo good! I add about a tsp of brown sugar to help caramelize the cabbage but still retain it's crisp/tender qualities. Brussel sprouts are TDF prepared like this. I half them, steam them for a short time then throw them in the skillet. My future daughter in law says, "I now like brussel sprouts!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I've been making this for years..I shred the cabbage instead of chopping it cooks more evenly. BIG TIP: you can also use pre-shredded cabbage from the grocery store, which makes it fast and easy. I add whatever I have avail. onion red or yellow, celery chopped finely. I also have prefried bacon in my freezer which is very convenient. And I keep the bacon grease in the refrigerator for seasoning other dishes. My husband loves this dish. And even if you don't like cabbage, you may want to try this, it just might change your mind on cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My grandmother used to make this for our Sunday dinners, so when I used this recipe, it sure brought back some pleasant memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We make this adding onions and noodles boiled in chicken broth, Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My mom was from the south, we also ate this all the time. She later added tomatoes and we ate this over rice. Brings back plenty of memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight (wanting to get back to my southern roots). Oh my goodness, it didn't disappoint. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar when cooking the cabbage, just as my grandmother did. I saved the leftovers and plan to eat them for lunch tomorrow. I am in the process of trying to figure out how to add a picture. For the first time in a long time, I took a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I added 2 tablespoon dijan mustard and 1 tablespoon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Now that I've found this recipe again, I just wanted to give a review. I made this last night and it was yummy. I used 2 small heads of cabbage, so I doubled the bacon drippings amount. That was a bit much. Came out a lot greasier than I like but still edible. The only other minor changes I made were, I added 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/4 tsp pepper and only crumbled 10 strips of bacon into the cabbage. Next time I make this, and there will be a next time, I will stick to the 1/4 cup of drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States