Fried Irish Cabbage with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I live in the South and this recipe is a staple in all households. There is nothing better if you like cabbage. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I love this recipe but I put onion and green peppers in the bacon drippings until they soften and then add the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Howe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is soooo good! I add about a tsp of brown sugar to help caramelize the cabbage but still retain it's crisp/tender qualities. Brussel sprouts are TDF prepared like this. I half them, steam them for a short time then throw them in the skillet. My future daughter in law says, "I now like brussel sprouts!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I've been making this for years..I shred the cabbage instead of chopping it cooks more evenly. BIG TIP: you can also use pre-shredded cabbage from the grocery store, which makes it fast and easy. I add whatever I have avail. onion red or yellow, celery chopped finely. I also have prefried bacon in my freezer which is very convenient. And I keep the bacon grease in the refrigerator for seasoning other dishes. My husband loves this dish. And even if you don't like cabbage, you may want to try this, it just might change your mind on cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My mom was from the south, we also ate this all the time. She later added tomatoes and we ate this over rice. Brings back plenty of memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My grandmother used to make this for our Sunday dinners, so when I used this recipe, it sure brought back some pleasant memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We make this adding onions and noodles boiled in chicken broth, Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
One word... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was so Yummy!!!! Even my husband who doesn't like cabbage tried it and loved it!! I did add bout a half tble spoon of brown sugar, and lil bit of white sugar, salt and pepper. That added just a perfect amout of sweetness! I will def make this again! It was so nice to find a recipe just like what my mother used to make when I was a child! It sure brought back some memories of her cooking!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I added 2 tablespoon dijan mustard and 1 tablespoon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States