Fried Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by rachel :D
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is great! i used Panko instead of corn flakes and it was soo goood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel :D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was pretty good, but either the corn flakes soak up the oil too much or I left them in too long because it tasted a little too "oily". I would definitely make again, but maybe try a different coating (another person used crushed up vanilla wafers - I might give that a try).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Always a hit! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Made for a mexican party they all loved very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mother and daughter team
Home Town: Sparland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is restaurant quality. A couple changes here. I used Rice Crispies cereal instead of corn flakes and used chocolate ice cream instead of vanilla. These are just what I had on hand and they worked perfectly. I let this chill overnight and it was perfectly whole. I went for the max amount of seconds, 15, and its way too much. I found that it should be 10, if that, so that is the only difference I'm making next time. Also, I did no measurements. Just poured plenty of cereal in a ziploc bag, sealed out the air and crushed with my hands til it was fine and sprinkled the cinnamon after frying. Like anything being fried, I find that double or triple coating helps maintain consistency. Last thing...a reviewer advised to chill after frying. You should opt for this if you want a more firm ice cream but if you want it warm and slightly melted, eat immediately. It's good either way. Feel free to experiment as well! This was lots of fun and very yummy :D. Update 10/20/09: 2 coats and 10 seconds cooks these babies to perfection and doesn't melt your ice cream. Also make sure your egg is beaten well otherwise its a gloppy mess. I will definitely be making these again and again, ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Try using Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cereal instead of Corn Flakes. Also, the reason why it fell apart for some people was because you didn't freeze the ice cream long enough. The best way to make fried ice cream is to prepare it the day before you plan on frying it. This way your cereal coated ice cream balls are nice and frozen. Also do the egg dip/cereal dip thing twice. Here is how it should be done: 1. Freeze the plain ice cream balls for 1-2 hours. 2. Dip in non-whipped beaten egg and roll in the cereal/cinnamon mixture. The freeze for 1-2 hours. 3. Dip in the beaten egg again and roll in the cereal/cinnamon mixture again and freeze for several hours (overnight is good) 4. Deep fry the cereal coated ice cream balls for 5 - 10 seconds. 5. Drizzle with honey and chocolate syrup. Top with whipped cream and a cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This tasted fantastic, but I think I will try adding some nuts or coconut next time. I mixed cinnamon in with the whipping cream for topping, which was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is absolutely amazing. The only thing I would recommend is to add coconut to the concoction. It gives it added flavor. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saxidavis89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fordland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Oh, my goodness! This was beyond delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Just like I remember! I used frosted flakes for my coating (I dipped in egg twice, and ended up using 2 beaten eggs), haagen daz for our vanilla ice cream, and let them set overnight before frying and serving. I didn't top mine with whipped cream, but did drizzle with honey. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States