Fried Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
MY OPINION: Ditch the corn flakes and substitute crushed vanilla wafers and you'll like this MUCH better. Also... Use peanut oil instead of veggie oil since it has about a 50 degree higher flash point and you can fry these babies quicker at higher temp for less ice cream melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I used to work at a mexican restaurant that made these... We used corn syrup to coat the ice cream balls...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPKOCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This was one of the best desserts I have ever made. I made "bowls" out of small flour tortillas by pushing the centers of them slightly down into muffin tins and spacing them out so they weren't touching. Then I sprayed them with cooking spray, and baked them in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes (when the edges started to brown). They held their shape and didn't crack. We enjoyed eating "the bowls" as much as the ice cream! I topped them with caramel sauce, whipped cream and a cherry. I will make this very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I looked and looked for this recipe. Thanks for making it available. I served this at a Tex-Mex dinner party, I must say it was a hit! However instead of plain Cornflakes I used Honey & Nut Cornflakes and tripled the amount of cinnamon. I put the Cornflakes in a blender to crush them, (only took a few mintues). I served it on a tortillas that were brushed with melted butter on each side, warmed in frying pan and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Then I topped it all will Carmel and/or Butterscotch Topping. Delicious!!! Best Desset I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
Since I moved to a small town, I haven't been able to get true fried ice cream. The Mexican restaurants here simply roll the ice cream in corn flakes. This recipe was so EASY and exactly as I remember real fried ice cream. I have been searching for this recipe and I am SO glad it was submitted! I do have one suggestion, though: buy the box of corn flake crumbs (it's next to bread crumbs in the grocery store). The crumbs are so much finer than you could make at home, and it makes a much better coating. I did dip the ice cream twice - you must have a really good coating for it to fry right. I will make this again and again and again......THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
*** Crush the corn flakes in a blender and substitute about 1/3 volume with CRUSHED VANILLA WAFERS. It makes this 10 times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe! I have had fried ice cream several times at a tex-mex restaurant and have been looking for a recipe that is like theirs'. I've found it! I recommend rolling the ice cream balls in the crushed flakes twice. I also find it easier to form the balls the evening before and freeze them overnight before you roll them in coating. My husband has never had fried ice cream and loved this!! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Delicious! I've tried making fried ice cream so many times, and this recipe has turned out the best! Very simple, just make sure you let it all freeze for a long time - it makes all the difference! My hubby swoons over this dessert - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Yummy. We fried tortillas, sprinkled them with cinammon & sugar, then served the ice cream on top with honey & fresh whipped cream. A real treat, especially after making the tequilla lime chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I enjoy fried ice cream very much. It is one of my favorite desserts. Although this recipe is very similar to what you would get at a Mexican restaurant, I've found a way to make this dessert without frying it and with much more flavor. In a medium heat skillet, I combine 1/4 cup butter, 1/3 cup flaked sweetened coconut, 1/3 cup chopped pecans, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1/2 cup flour. I stir everything until crumbly and golden brown. Then, I let it all cool down. I make the ice cream balls and roll them in the crumbly mixture and put them in the freezer covered until ready to serve. Then, I drizzle them with honey. I think this way is easier and has a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States