Fried Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
MY OPINION: Ditch the corn flakes and substitute crushed vanilla wafers and you'll like this MUCH better. Also... Use peanut oil instead of veggie oil since it has about a 50 degree higher flash point and you can fry these babies quicker at higher temp for less ice cream melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I used to work at a mexican restaurant that made these... We used corn syrup to coat the ice cream balls...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPKOCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This was one of the best desserts I have ever made. I made "bowls" out of small flour tortillas by pushing the centers of them slightly down into muffin tins and spacing them out so they weren't touching. Then I sprayed them with cooking spray, and baked them in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes (when the edges started to brown). They held their shape and didn't crack. We enjoyed eating "the bowls" as much as the ice cream! I topped them with caramel sauce, whipped cream and a cherry. I will make this very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I looked and looked for this recipe. Thanks for making it available. I served this at a Tex-Mex dinner party, I must say it was a hit! However instead of plain Cornflakes I used Honey & Nut Cornflakes and tripled the amount of cinnamon. I put the Cornflakes in a blender to crush them, (only took a few mintues). I served it on a tortillas that were brushed with melted butter on each side, warmed in frying pan and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. Then I topped it all will Carmel and/or Butterscotch Topping. Delicious!!! Best Desset I've had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
Since I moved to a small town, I haven't been able to get true fried ice cream. The Mexican restaurants here simply roll the ice cream in corn flakes. This recipe was so EASY and exactly as I remember real fried ice cream. I have been searching for this recipe and I am SO glad it was submitted! I do have one suggestion, though: buy the box of corn flake crumbs (it's next to bread crumbs in the grocery store). The crumbs are so much finer than you could make at home, and it makes a much better coating. I did dip the ice cream twice - you must have a really good coating for it to fry right. I will make this again and again and again......THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
*** Crush the corn flakes in a blender and substitute about 1/3 volume with CRUSHED VANILLA WAFERS. It makes this 10 times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe! I have had fried ice cream several times at a tex-mex restaurant and have been looking for a recipe that is like theirs'. I've found it! I recommend rolling the ice cream balls in the crushed flakes twice. I also find it easier to form the balls the evening before and freeze them overnight before you roll them in coating. My husband has never had fried ice cream and loved this!! 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Yummy. We fried tortillas, sprinkled them with cinammon & sugar, then served the ice cream on top with honey & fresh whipped cream. A real treat, especially after making the tequilla lime chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Delicious! I've tried making fried ice cream so many times, and this recipe has turned out the best! Very simple, just make sure you let it all freeze for a long time - it makes all the difference! My hubby swoons over this dessert - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I had this great dessert about a million years ago while entertaining a client. I've always wondered how this was done and was thrilled to find the recipe. We used various flavors of ice cream and also skipped the middle step. Working quickly, we shaped our ice cream balls and then proceded with the dipping process. We then froze them for several hours as they really need to be rock hard before frying. My daughter made a suggestion to use pancake batter in lieu of the egg white. Next time we'll give it a try. Thanks so much Jeri for a really terrific and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States