Fried Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I'm sorry, but this fell apart faster than I could say stop. Then when I got then all together it started to stick, so I put it in the freezer and the it melted. It left overs were good though, so that is why I am giing it more than 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I stuck the frozen ice cream balls on wax paper in my freezer instead of using a cookie sheet, and also substituted frosted flakes for corn flakes....the end result....fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SexyCadence311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
YUM!!!!!!! Excellent, just like Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant! I used a mixture of corn flakes, cinnamon (lots) and crushed vanilla wafers, and coated the frozen ice cream balls in corn syrup instead of egg whites before rolling it in the dry mix. The frying part only takes a few seconds - be ready to take them out right away. I drizzled each one with honey and topped with whipped cream, and got rave reviews from everyone in the family! This was a great recipe and I am very impressed with myself that I was able to make fried ice cream just like the restaurants do! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This was the dessert I served at the end of a Mexican themed dinner party. My husband of 8 years proudly exclaimed that it his new favorite dessert recipe of mine. My guest were very intrigued by the thought of frying ice cream. Everyone loved it. The hardest part was scooping the ice cream fast enough that they didn't all melt. These are tips to make your fried ice cream a hit. Line a cookie sheet to freeze the scoops on. Make sure you have room in your freezer before scooping the ice cream. Use a bag to toss them in the cornflakes instead of a bowl. You can do steps 1 and 2 the day before you plan on frying them. Have a well organized "fry station" set up and don't take the ice cream scoops out until the oil is hot enough (make sure it is at 375). Don't forget the honey, whipped cream and the cherry. Serve this quickly and proudly and you will be the dessert queen/king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was so much work, I doubt I will ever do it again. Also, I tried to do the coating twice, but most of it just fell off the secondo time. Lots of work, and time, but it did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This was great. I chose to top mine w/ caramel sauce, whipped cream, and a cherry. Definitely a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
WOW!!! This is one good dessert. I've heard of this but never had it before and let me tell you it is good! I used Honey Nut Cereal instead of cornflakes because that's what we had and I omitted the cinnamon cause I'm not a very big fan of it. I've made it twice already, once with the egg white and once with light corn syrup. No difference at all. Also, as some other reviews suggested, I crushed the cereal in my processor. I had it topped with Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce (also found on this site) and I was in heaven! Thanks for the great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Great restaurant quality recipe. I used corn syrup instead of the egg and the coating only had to be applied once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe surprisingly went very well. (Considering your trying to deep fry icecream.) I followed the recipe exactly, and the results were amazing. Very similar in taste to what I have had at a favorite restaurant. I do not have a deep fryer, so I use my electric skillet. I fill it 1/2 to 2/3 full with oil and turn on the thermostat and wait for it to get hot. Very delicious recipe, a great way to end our Mexican themed family dinner. The kids were impressed! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Wow! These were terrific. A big hit with my family. I prepared the individual servings the night before so I didn't have to do anything after dinner but heat the oil and fry. If your using your refrigerator freezer turn it down all the was to get it as cold as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States