Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This is the 3rd "fgt" recipe that I have tried and the only one where the batter stayed on during frying! Very good recipe. I used very firm gr. tomatoes - I would recommend using some that have a little "give" to them. I found that the batter was really enough to cover about 2 tomatoes. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil in the frying pan. I cut the salt in 1/2 and it definitely needed more - I would use the entire amt. Also, I sprinkled the tomatoes with Pecorino cheese after frying and served with spaghetti sauce. My husband and I loved it, the kids weren't too crazy about it. Great recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These were awesome! Its the first time I made fried green tomatoes(used cucumbers too!) that the coating stayed on when I cooked them! They were yummy, even my 2 year old twins ate them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Try this breading to make jalapeno poppers if you like hot stuff... or even onion rings. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I gave this 4 stars cause there is no way that I could find to fry these in butter without the butter burning.I had to use Sunflower oil. I did use Ritz crackers instead of Saltines to add more flavor. I have to say that the recipe was a good one but the butter just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I had never had fried green tomatoes before but always wanted to try them. I bought 2 green tomatoes about a week ago and one stayed green and the other got red, but stayed firm. I used these 2 tomatoes to make this and they were both fantastic. I used Ritz instead of saltines just because I happened to have a sleeve at home. And I also cooked them in a mixture of butter and oil. I fried mine at the next notch above medium and it was a perfect tempurature. These were delicious and I will be using this recipe again. You could even make this to make winter tomatoes taste good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was my first attempt at fried green tomatoes.My husband and I both loved the results. This recipe seems to be fool proof as I got a little ahead of myself in preparing the fry coating and mixed all the dry ingredients together. I just dipped into egg, then dry mix, then repeated. I had one less dirty dish to clean. It worked wonderfully. Thanks Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This is the best recipe that I've used. I've tried flour which was good but a little plain. Tried corn meal and it was a little too crunchy. But the crackers and butter make the tomatoes super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Fried in bacon grease in lieu of oil....PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This recipe is wonderful! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I followed the directions except, as someone else mentioned, I mixed the cracker crumbs in with the flour and double dipped. I loved the taste of the buttery cracker coating but I'm not sure that I like green tomato's. Maybe I'll try something similar with other vegetables. (Zucinni?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States