Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
i will use this recipe again the tomatoes was very good better then corn meal that my mom use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was good, but a little bland. I think some added seasonings will make it great. I also ran out of egg and crackers long before I ran out of flour, so next time I will half the flour mixture, rather than throw so much away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This one gets a 5 star...delicious. I have my first tomato plant ever and for some reason that I don't understand, by the time the tomatoes turn red, they start splitting open and have to be thrown away. So I decided to use them green. This is the first time I have made fried green tomatoes. I made them exactly as the recipe called for except I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to the flour mixture. These were different from the way my grandmother used to make them...she used corn meal, but I decided I like these even better. I will not let any more tomatoes on my plant get red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Loved this recipe. Last attempts had batter falling off. This did NOT. Used the mistake previously commented on of adding crushed crackers to the flour. Simpler to do and it worked beautifully. I would add a little more salt next time. And definitely not quite so green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Oh my goodness! I have had fried green tomatoes a few times in restaurants and after seeing some beautiful green tomatoes at the farmers market I was inspired to try to make them myself. This recipe couldn't have been any simpler and yeilded the most delicious results!! I didn't have any saltines so I used oyster crackers that I ran through the food processor to get an even consistency. Also, I added a little bit of vegetable oil to my butter since it started to burn. Once I added the oil it went perfectly. My husband and I devoured these dipped in ranch dressing and I can't wait to serve them the next time we entertain! Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is the first time I've tried fried green tomatoes. I added onion and garlic salt. I also used a light red, but still hard tomato. I dipped them in wasabi sauce. This is one of my new favorite treats! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dalton, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was the best recipe. I was looking for something that would help make the green tomatoes really crunchy. WOW..my whole family LOVED this recipe. I did change one item, instead of saltines, I used Ritz crackers instead. It added an extra buttery taste. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This recipe worked really well, but I had to substitute red tomatoes for the green. I used it as a side dish for Stuffed Peppers and it worked perfectly. Next time I'll add more pepper, or perhaps cumin to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I'll explore another recipe before making this one again. However, I can see why other people rated it well... Pros: This recipe has ingredients most pantries have "in stock". The batter sticks to the tomatoes and gets perfectly crispy. It's easy and tastes fresh, not heavy or overly greasy for a fried dish. Cons: The breading lacked flavor. Perhaps using a seasoned breadcrumb instead of the crackers would help? Or adding spices to the crackers or flour? It's just not flavorful enough for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States