Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Excellent!!! Best I ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renea
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
turned out great, I loved these when I was a kid, I however instead of saltine crackers I used ritz, mixed with dry bread crumbs. and vegitable oil to cook in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
just made them tonight- everyone loved them. Made exactly as directed except I used Canola oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWALTERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
BETHZUKE, thank you, thank you, thank you! I don't like cornmeal batter & the all flour is okay but this IT, for me! The batter stayed on & all I did differently was add a red/black pepper mixture for the pepper, plus added some garlic powder. I didn't share these w/anyone! :) Thanks, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
No matter which recipe you go by, you should always fry green tomatoes is bacon grease....try it...you'll be sooooo glad you did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is a great way to fry green tomatoes or any other vegetable! I also tried cucumbers, which were great, but pickles were even better! You can also add a little cayenne pepper for a kick. Butter crackers, such as Ritz, work fine if you don't have saltines. I recommend crushing the crackers in a food processor. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was wonderful, i have tried just plain flour and flour with cornmeal no comparison, I will say the first batch I did burn the butter lower the heat the second time and was awesome....Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were delicious! I sprinkled a little cajun seasoning on them, and used half butter and half olive oil for frying. Some of us ate them plain and some added a little ranch dressing as a sauce - both were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these for a themed dinner night in the middle of the winter. No green tomatoes to be found, so I used half green/yellow not ripe tomatoes from the grocery store and they worked just fine. Everyone loved them and was asking for the recipe. I did have to use x2 the amount of eggs and crackers though and that still only fried up about 3.5 of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cglinski
Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great use for green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by storweis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States