Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This recipe is wonderful! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These were awesome! Its the first time I made fried green tomatoes(used cucumbers too!) that the coating stayed on when I cooked them! They were yummy, even my 2 year old twins ate them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was my first attempt at fried green tomatoes.My husband and I both loved the results. This recipe seems to be fool proof as I got a little ahead of myself in preparing the fry coating and mixed all the dry ingredients together. I just dipped into egg, then dry mix, then repeated. I had one less dirty dish to clean. It worked wonderfully. Thanks Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
I followed the directions except, as someone else mentioned, I mixed the cracker crumbs in with the flour and double dipped. I loved the taste of the buttery cracker coating but I'm not sure that I like green tomato's. Maybe I'll try something similar with other vegetables. (Zucinni?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This is the 3rd "fgt" recipe that I have tried and the only one where the batter stayed on during frying! Very good recipe. I used very firm gr. tomatoes - I would recommend using some that have a little "give" to them. I found that the batter was really enough to cover about 2 tomatoes. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil in the frying pan. I cut the salt in 1/2 and it definitely needed more - I would use the entire amt. Also, I sprinkled the tomatoes with Pecorino cheese after frying and served with spaghetti sauce. My husband and I loved it, the kids weren't too crazy about it. Great recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This is the best recipe that I've used. I've tried flour which was good but a little plain. Tried corn meal and it was a little too crunchy. But the crackers and butter make the tomatoes super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very simple, easy to make. I could not find any green tomatoes, so I just used red vine tomatoes and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was excellent! I also mixed all of the dry ingredients together and double dipped before frying. The tomatoes I got were really firm which I wasn't crazy about. Next time I'm going to try this tasty coating on red tomatoes which I think will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Very good to eat but tough to deal with because you get the batter stuff all over your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
We love these. I did use Panko breadcrumbs instead of crackers and added some garlic powder, onion powder, and a little cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States