Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I'll explore another recipe before making this one again. However, I can see why other people rated it well... Pros: This recipe has ingredients most pantries have "in stock". The batter sticks to the tomatoes and gets perfectly crispy. It's easy and tastes fresh, not heavy or overly greasy for a fried dish. Cons: The breading lacked flavor. Perhaps using a seasoned breadcrumb instead of the crackers would help? Or adding spices to the crackers or flour? It's just not flavorful enough for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Really good recipe...I followed it exactly, except I added sugar to the flour mix to give a little sweet taste. I added about 1/4 cup or a bit less. And, be careful when you add the salt, since the saltines have added salt that it's easy to forget about. Other than that, it's a really good recipe, and like the others mentioned, my batter did stay on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Yum! I lucked across green tomatoes at th store and nabbed all they had - then ran home and looked for a recipe that would best suit these treasures! This recipe fit the bill, totally. They were cooked exactly as recommended double-dredged for a dense coat. If I ever come across green tomatoes again - this is what I'll come back to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pima, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was the first time I've ever made or eaten Fried Green Tomatoes. The recipe was very good. My aunt and I loved the flavor of the breading, but didn't much care for the green tomatoes, so I made another batch using tomatoes that weren't ripe yet, but weren't green anymore (pinkish orange) and still very solid. They were great,,,mouth watering, actually! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Simple and easy. A great addition to any southern meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
all i can say is DELICIOUS!! and sprinkling kosher salt after frying was a great idea from another review!!! Higly recomend trying this one out. You will never go back to cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Soooooo good. we used them to make Fried green tomato BLT's. try it I dare you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fugginmark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Took some practice to get the coating right...but it tasted awesome! ...and i used crushed stuffing mix as the "crumbs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuznic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
First time making Fried Green tomatoes and they came out great. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States