Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
If you grow your own tomatoes, October is the time of year to bring in all those green tomatoes that aren't going to have time to ripen before the frost arrives. I had two handfuls of little green one plus a few that were good size. However I used a less butter and instead of the crackers, I used corn meal because that the way my grandmother made them. I'm sure the crackers would be good also. For people that have never had fried green tomatoes, the taste is unique and the first time you have them you may wonder what all the fuss is about... I'm here to tell you that fried green tomatoes are one of my very favorite treats. I've served them with a meal and also as an appetizer. I give this recipe a solid five star rating. This is the way us country folks fix our fried green tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Great recipe. this was my first attempt at cooking and eating fried green tomatoes. it was very easy and make very crispy coating. I will use this again but crush my saltines a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made it this at a large family dinner and even the finicky were coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, the batter sticks to the tomato beautifully. I also use a breading very similar to this on morel mushrooms. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
LOVED IT! I am a cook who tries to find recipes based on what I have in the house. I alter this recipe a bit and it still turned out fantastic. I used red tomatoes and Ritz crackers. This is the first time I had fried tomatoes and now I’m hooked! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Look no longer for THE BEST FGT recipe because this is it. I used my deep fat fryer in which to cook them with great success. The coating adheared perfectly to the sliced tomatoes. My husband, who dislikes vegetables, ate the equivalent of two whole, large tomatoes! I served these with homemade buttermilk ranch dressing. This recipe is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Llano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was my first attempt at fried green tomatoes and it was delicious. I only had reduced-fat CheezIt crackers in the house which made the recipe even more tasty. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deniseelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great recipe! Fingers got nice and dirty re-dipping the tomatoes. I ran out of crackers, but it was good double-dipped in the egg and flour mixture. Definitely need more eggs. I only made two tomatoes and easily used two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifferlopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This actually turned out to be a great breading recipe to fry anything in the skillet! Only thing I changed was to add seasoning here and there for the various things we use the breading for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are fantastic! Next time I make them I will probably peel the tomatoes first, I think it will help the batter stick to them better in the pan. I added a little spice to my flour mix, I like things with a little more flavor. But they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States