Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These were fantastic! The crackers were the perfect coating. They were nice and crunchy and not grainy like cornmeal breading. I did salt the tomato slices to dry them up a little before breading them. Nobody likes them soggy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is one coating recipe that actually sticks on the vegetables throughout cooking. I used it for fried green tomatoes and also for summer squash. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great taste but they were way to thick. I would slice the tomatoes thinner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Excellent!!! Best I ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renea
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
turned out great, I loved these when I was a kid, I however instead of saltine crackers I used ritz, mixed with dry bread crumbs. and vegitable oil to cook in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
just made them tonight- everyone loved them. Made exactly as directed except I used Canola oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWALTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Vista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lexington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
BETHZUKE, thank you, thank you, thank you! I don't like cornmeal batter & the all flour is okay but this IT, for me! The batter stayed on & all I did differently was add a red/black pepper mixture for the pepper, plus added some garlic powder. I didn't share these w/anyone! :) Thanks, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
No matter which recipe you go by, you should always fry green tomatoes is bacon grease....try it...you'll be sooooo glad you did!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is a great way to fry green tomatoes or any other vegetable! I also tried cucumbers, which were great, but pickles were even better! You can also add a little cayenne pepper for a kick. Butter crackers, such as Ritz, work fine if you don't have saltines. I recommend crushing the crackers in a food processor. This recipe is a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was wonderful, i have tried just plain flour and flour with cornmeal no comparison, I will say the first batch I did burn the butter lower the heat the second time and was awesome....Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States