Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I totally loved this recipe, so did everyone in my family.. I didn't change a thing.. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett O'Hara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mira Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wow!! These were so GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly except used egg whites and townhouse crackers because I didn't have saltines then cooked them in a skillet on medium heat. These were the BEST. They had a crunchy outside and a tender inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wow! What a great recipe! I had never made FGT but always wanted to since watching the movie. I had a ton of green tomatoes on my plants so thought, what the heck? This was the first recipe I tried and will be one I surely continue to use!! I used Ritz crackers instead of saltines though. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
good but could use more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made these and they were sooo good that I had to share them with my neighbors!! I also used Extra Virgin Olive Oil to fry them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Indiana, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Great, easy side dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaflint
Living In: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I followed this recipie but used Panko crumbs instead of crackers and canola oil instead of butter. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
The best fried green tomatoes i have ever had! Add a bottle of hot sauce on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Rexrode

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These were very good and very easy. I gave it 4 starts because my husband made some changes. He added a pinch of chili powder and about a Tbs of cornmeal in the flour mixture. He also fried them in our deep fryer instead of pan frying in butter. He paired it with the following sauce from another site: Guthrie's Sauce 3/4 cup mayonnaise 1/4 cup ketchup 1 tsp black pepper 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1/4 tsp worcestershire sauce 1/4 tsp seasoned salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were really easy to make and very yummy! My grandma always just sliced the tomatoes, rolled in flour mixed with salt and pepper and fried them. Until now, those were the only FGT i knew of! I used butter flavored shortening instead of butter because thats what my grandma used, and i was afraid i would burn the butter. I also used a very firm green tomato. I now would advise that if u use a firm tomato, to cut it thinner than 1/2". We used ranch as dipping sauce. Again. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayclo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States