Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This recipe is wonderful! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These were awesome! Its the first time I made fried green tomatoes(used cucumbers too!) that the coating stayed on when I cooked them! They were yummy, even my 2 year old twins ate them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This was my first attempt at fried green tomatoes.My husband and I both loved the results. This recipe seems to be fool proof as I got a little ahead of myself in preparing the fry coating and mixed all the dry ingredients together. I just dipped into egg, then dry mix, then repeated. I had one less dirty dish to clean. It worked wonderfully. Thanks Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This is the 3rd "fgt" recipe that I have tried and the only one where the batter stayed on during frying! Very good recipe. I used very firm gr. tomatoes - I would recommend using some that have a little "give" to them. I found that the batter was really enough to cover about 2 tomatoes. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil in the frying pan. I cut the salt in 1/2 and it definitely needed more - I would use the entire amt. Also, I sprinkled the tomatoes with Pecorino cheese after frying and served with spaghetti sauce. My husband and I loved it, the kids weren't too crazy about it. Great recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This is the best recipe that I've used. I've tried flour which was good but a little plain. Tried corn meal and it was a little too crunchy. But the crackers and butter make the tomatoes super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very simple, easy to make. I could not find any green tomatoes, so I just used red vine tomatoes and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was excellent! I also mixed all of the dry ingredients together and double dipped before frying. The tomatoes I got were really firm which I wasn't crazy about. Next time I'm going to try this tasty coating on red tomatoes which I think will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
The best Fried Green Tomatoes ever! Serve with a little salsa and sprinkle with cheese if you like. Although, I cut the tomatoes a lot thinner 1/4 to 1/8 inch..thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Excellent! I also combined the cracker crumbs with the flour and added a little cayenne and some garlic salt. Instead of butter I used canola oil. They are wonderful served with balsamic vinegar or hot sauce as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Yum Yum Yum. I have never liked tomatos, but in the past I have enjoyed Fried Green Tomatos. I used this recipe and now I want MORE!!! I sliced the tomatos really thin so I wouldn't taste them much, and I, like others, mixed the dry ingredients together. I was very impressed with the flavor and how easy it was. OH I also added some onion powder and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States