Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe, the batter sticks to the tomato beautifully. I also use a breading very similar to this on morel mushrooms. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
LOVED IT! I am a cook who tries to find recipes based on what I have in the house. I alter this recipe a bit and it still turned out fantastic. I used red tomatoes and Ritz crackers. This is the first time I had fried tomatoes and now I’m hooked! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Look no longer for THE BEST FGT recipe because this is it. I used my deep fat fryer in which to cook them with great success. The coating adheared perfectly to the sliced tomatoes. My husband, who dislikes vegetables, ate the equivalent of two whole, large tomatoes! I served these with homemade buttermilk ranch dressing. This recipe is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Llano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was my first attempt at fried green tomatoes and it was delicious. I only had reduced-fat CheezIt crackers in the house which made the recipe even more tasty. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deniseelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great recipe! Fingers got nice and dirty re-dipping the tomatoes. I ran out of crackers, but it was good double-dipped in the egg and flour mixture. Definitely need more eggs. I only made two tomatoes and easily used two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifferlopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This actually turned out to be a great breading recipe to fry anything in the skillet! Only thing I changed was to add seasoning here and there for the various things we use the breading for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These are fantastic! Next time I make them I will probably peel the tomatoes first, I think it will help the batter stick to them better in the pan. I added a little spice to my flour mix, I like things with a little more flavor. But they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I'd never tried these before...very tasty! I used part olive oil and part butter to do the frying and one stack of Ritz Crackers. Great way to use green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Best I've made...can't wait to eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
i will use this recipe again the tomatoes was very good better then corn meal that my mom use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States