Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were delicious! I sprinkled a little cajun seasoning on them, and used half butter and half olive oil for frying. Some of us ate them plain and some added a little ranch dressing as a sauce - both were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made these for a themed dinner night in the middle of the winter. No green tomatoes to be found, so I used half green/yellow not ripe tomatoes from the grocery store and they worked just fine. Everyone loved them and was asking for the recipe. I did have to use x2 the amount of eggs and crackers though and that still only fried up about 3.5 of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cglinski
Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great use for green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by storweis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was the first time I have ever had Fried Green Tomatoes and the were wonderful. The only thing that I changed with the recipe is I just went ahead and cooked them in Crisco Oil instead of butter and used 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 1 tsp. of salt. Very good! Batter stayed on nicely. This is a keeper recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I've never had these before but they were excellent. Yum! I plan on using this recipe and covering them with marinara sauce with cheese on top. I can even envision these on sandwiches. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This isn't a shabby recipe. I think they should be sliced a little thinner. Maybe 1/4 an inch, instead of a half, because they were still too firm. And its a very plain taste, so I felt it lacked oomph. I'll try it again, sliced thinner, and with cajun seasoning mixed in, to spice it up. Also, I used half butter, half olive oil like someone else suggested- I just felt way too guilty using that much butter. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really yummy! I had to make a double the amount of "egg" (I'm vegan so I use Ener-G replacer). I also replaced the regular salt with Hickory Bacon Salt (vegan) to give it a smoky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These were super fast and easy. A friend at work was trying to get rid of her tomatoes so I asked her to bring in some green ones for me. I cut the recipe in half, used cornmeal instead of flour, mixed in a generous portion of parmesan, cooked them in olive oil and used boxed bread crumbs as that was what I had on hand. That amount covered two small tomatoes cut in 1/4 inch slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made these for the second time last night and I love them. I only made a few slight changes. I used Ritz crackers and added some Parmesan cheese to the cracker mixture. And I used half oil/half butter in the skillet. Last night, I used "butter spread" because I was out of butter and it turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Like Rookie Cookie, I also used corn meal and turned half of what I made into Fried Green Tomato Parmesan the same as I would with eggplant. I couldn't get these fried fast enough as everyone kept stealing them off the plate! Thank you BethZuke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States