Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great use for green tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by storweis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was the first time I have ever had Fried Green Tomatoes and the were wonderful. The only thing that I changed with the recipe is I just went ahead and cooked them in Crisco Oil instead of butter and used 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 1 tsp. of salt. Very good! Batter stayed on nicely. This is a keeper recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I've never had these before but they were excellent. Yum! I plan on using this recipe and covering them with marinara sauce with cheese on top. I can even envision these on sandwiches. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This isn't a shabby recipe. I think they should be sliced a little thinner. Maybe 1/4 an inch, instead of a half, because they were still too firm. And its a very plain taste, so I felt it lacked oomph. I'll try it again, sliced thinner, and with cajun seasoning mixed in, to spice it up. Also, I used half butter, half olive oil like someone else suggested- I just felt way too guilty using that much butter. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really yummy! I had to make a double the amount of "egg" (I'm vegan so I use Ener-G replacer). I also replaced the regular salt with Hickory Bacon Salt (vegan) to give it a smoky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These were super fast and easy. A friend at work was trying to get rid of her tomatoes so I asked her to bring in some green ones for me. I cut the recipe in half, used cornmeal instead of flour, mixed in a generous portion of parmesan, cooked them in olive oil and used boxed bread crumbs as that was what I had on hand. That amount covered two small tomatoes cut in 1/4 inch slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made these for the second time last night and I love them. I only made a few slight changes. I used Ritz crackers and added some Parmesan cheese to the cracker mixture. And I used half oil/half butter in the skillet. Last night, I used "butter spread" because I was out of butter and it turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Like Rookie Cookie, I also used corn meal and turned half of what I made into Fried Green Tomato Parmesan the same as I would with eggplant. I couldn't get these fried fast enough as everyone kept stealing them off the plate! Thank you BethZuke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
If you grow your own tomatoes, October is the time of year to bring in all those green tomatoes that aren't going to have time to ripen before the frost arrives. I had two handfuls of little green one plus a few that were good size. However I used a less butter and instead of the crackers, I used corn meal because that the way my grandmother made them. I'm sure the crackers would be good also. For people that have never had fried green tomatoes, the taste is unique and the first time you have them you may wonder what all the fuss is about... I'm here to tell you that fried green tomatoes are one of my very favorite treats. I've served them with a meal and also as an appetizer. I give this recipe a solid five star rating. This is the way us country folks fix our fried green tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Great recipe. this was my first attempt at cooking and eating fried green tomatoes. it was very easy and make very crispy coating. I will use this again but crush my saltines a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States