Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
need to completely crush the saltines -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
very good. I made a few changes. added hot sauce to eggs. I used panko crumbs. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Amazing! Only problem was it only covered 12 slices, which for me was a tomato and a half. I would double the eggs at least and cut back a bit on the flour, maybe start with 1/3 cup. Also, a few tablespoons of cornmeal mixed with the saltines worked great. Wonderful coating, fried nicely and stuck to the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I THOUGTH THEY WERE WONDERFUL! I USED OLIVE OIL AND BUTTER WHEN I FRIED THEM..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
YUMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimCancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
These turned out really well and my family loved them. I used egg whites only for the wash and instead of crackers I coated the tomatoes in panko bread crumbs. Delicious! Now I know what I can do with all those tomatoes leftover unripened when the weather turns cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I liked it a lot and I have about a million green tomatoes this year. I didn't like the double dip, it was messy and it was not working for me. I could not get the crumbs to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taratronson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These were fantastic! The crackers were the perfect coating. They were nice and crunchy and not grainy like cornmeal breading. I did salt the tomato slices to dry them up a little before breading them. Nobody likes them soggy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This is one coating recipe that actually sticks on the vegetables throughout cooking. I used it for fried green tomatoes and also for summer squash. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States