Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These were very good and very easy. I gave it 4 starts because my husband made some changes. He added a pinch of chili powder and about a Tbs of cornmeal in the flour mixture. He also fried them in our deep fryer instead of pan frying in butter. He paired it with the following sauce from another site: Guthrie's Sauce 3/4 cup mayonnaise 1/4 cup ketchup 1 tsp black pepper 1/2 tsp garlic powder 1/4 tsp worcestershire sauce 1/4 tsp seasoned salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were really easy to make and very yummy! My grandma always just sliced the tomatoes, rolled in flour mixed with salt and pepper and fried them. Until now, those were the only FGT i knew of! I used butter flavored shortening instead of butter because thats what my grandma used, and i was afraid i would burn the butter. I also used a very firm green tomato. I now would advise that if u use a firm tomato, to cut it thinner than 1/2". We used ranch as dipping sauce. Again. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayclo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Excellent Recipe! I think the crackers really make this recipe. They fried up nice and crunchy and beautiful golden brown. Thanks for sharing this one, it's a keeper. This recipe simply ROCKS! I've made it several times now and it comes out perfect every time. Just the right crunch and FULL of flavor. I do use a mix of peanut oil and butter for frying, other than that I follow the recipe as posted. Thanks for a GREAT FGT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Amazing just added a little creole seasoning to the flour for a little kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Delicious! Like other reviewers have said, the coating stays on the tomatoes very well, with only a small amount lost in frying. To prevent the butter from burning, I used about 4 Tbs of butter and 4 Tbs of olive oil. The only thing I disliked about these is that the finished product was a little bland, so we sprinkled them with a little salt. Next time, though, I think I'm going to use Old Bay instead to really give them a kick. I served these as a side dish with chicken fried chicken along with JP's Big Daddy Biscuits from here at AllRecipes and country gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Awesome!.. I couldn't stop eating these they were so good! Picked some nice big green tomatoes today at our church's public garden... I've never had them before and I'm definatley a fan now! I upped some of the spice: added some garlic powder, cayenne and salt & pepper into my flour along with a few T of corn meal. Used panko bread crumbs in place of the saltines and eliminated one step. Pre-seasoned the tomatoes with salt and pepper and used half veg.oil/margarine combo. The double dipping gets kinda messy but it worked. Thanks! Here's an after thought... I'll bet they'd be even more amazing in bacon grease but not so healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Used this recipe for my 1st attempt at fried green tomatoes, they turned out perfect! An easy & delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldngurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Great overall recipe. I like to use cornmeal instead of cracker crumbs but if you're a fan of Fried Green Tomatoes, these are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is the only Fried Green Tomato recipe you'll ever need. It's simply the best!!! I did not have saltine crackers so I improvised with ritz crackers and Italian Bread Crumbs. Don't run to the store, just use what is in your pantry. Recommend you add a splash of milk to your egg wash. Happy eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan B-R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I would give it a 5 star, but i did add some more spices. I added garlic and onion powder and also a few shakes of cayenne powder. This is a awesome recipe! I had left over flour mixture and i did not fry in butter, I used a peanut canola blend... Very crispy and tasty!! used marzettis ranch dressing as a dip!! will make this again. Pretty simple too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcumom1

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States