Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Thanks to this recipe there will never be anymore bitter "Fried Green Tomatoes" in my house.I did find this a little messy to make so I put the kids to work. They had a blast. Also instead of using 3 bowls to mix & dip, I used ziplock bags(except for the eggs) it made clean up a breeze! I did have to use 4 eggs instead of the 2 it called for,and I used half the butter and mixed it with oil as others had suggested.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
We loved these! I used Ritz crackers, the taste was awesome. I have tried several recipes over the years,and they were either soggy, greasy, no flavor, or the outside coating would fall off. These held up perfectly. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apalachin, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is really good! I used in place of plain tomatoes and made a salad with layered tomatoes, basil and fresh mozz drizzled with olive oil...you know the one. It rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was a good recipe. I mixed the cracker crumbs in with the flour as others had suggested. Instead of butter I used margarine so it wouldn't smoke and burn. The cracker flavor seemed to come through strongly and sometimes I felt like I could've just sliced a tomato and put it on top of a cracker instead of making this. While it was good and we ate it, it wasn't exactly what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This is the best fried green tomatoes recipe that I have tried. I used canola oil and ritz crackers. I also used an egg substitute, which I usually do when I need need an egg mixture. It is much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Oh so easy and oh so wonderful. We tend to stay away from fried foods, but these with their thick cuts of tomato didn't seem greasy at all. We loved them and will most likely be making them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I used buttery round crackers (like Ritz) and fried the tomatoes in bacon grease, which was absolutely delicious! I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Maybe I did something wrong but I ended up with a big mess! The coating was in globs in some places but then on others the coating wasn't sticking at all. I followed the directions exactly. The taste was good, they just looked terrible. Maybe I will try these again but use bread crumbs instead of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
WOW, this was the simple greatest recipe for fried veggies I have tried. The crackers really make a great crunchy breadind and make you wonder why you haven't thought of using it before. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I love fried green tomatoes, however, I was not crazy about this recipe. I think it may of tasted better if it was not fried in butter (or margarine, for that matter.) I may try this again, but, I will stick to frying the tomatoes in oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States