Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I've never had fried green tomatoes before, so maybe I just didn't know what to expect. But I thought these were bland, and too tart, and too greasy. I only ate three slices and they made me feel a bit sick. Not terrible, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was a good recipe, but a bit bland. I added butter crackers to the saltines which added an extra flavor. Be generous with the salt & pepper as well. Anyone would likes tomatoes love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Try this breading to make jalapeno poppers if you like hot stuff... or even onion rings. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
My husband liked these. I added some oil in with the butter. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Good recipe. Didn't cook through because my slices were too thick. I'll know next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfaHulkNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Very yummy!...it has been years since I have had a recipe like this ! Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I had never had fried green tomatoes before but always wanted to try them. I bought 2 green tomatoes about a week ago and one stayed green and the other got red, but stayed firm. I used these 2 tomatoes to make this and they were both fantastic. I used Ritz instead of saltines just because I happened to have a sleeve at home. And I also cooked them in a mixture of butter and oil. I fried mine at the next notch above medium and it was a perfect tempurature. These were delicious and I will be using this recipe again. You could even make this to make winter tomatoes taste good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I gave this 4 stars cause there is no way that I could find to fry these in butter without the butter burning.I had to use Sunflower oil. I did use Ritz crackers instead of Saltines to add more flavor. I have to say that the recipe was a good one but the butter just did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Fried in bacon grease in lieu of oil....PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Wonderful!! Made it twice this week and am looking forward to the next time. Thanks for the yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 121-130 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States